Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 07:12 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default How to network 2 computers off of one network drop

I was wondering if its rather straight forward to network two computers off of one network drop by installing a second NIC into one of the machines and somehow sharing/splitting the network from this second NIC into the second computer.

Here is a diagram that may help

network -> NIC # 1 of Main PC -> NIC #2 of MAIN PC -> NIC of Second PC.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 07:26 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

If the computers are close and are both running windows you can use Internet Connection Sharing.

But the 1st computer needs to have 2 network cards.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 07:53 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

why not just a simple hub? or just another router?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by blaze_125; May 17, 2011 at 07:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 08:15 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

The computers will essentially be running side by and side and its because i'll be using 2 computers at work and i only have one network drop. All the other network drops in the room are being used and i wont be able to use a switch or router at my desk. I'll look into internet connection sharing once i have the second machine up and running. Essentially its one pc for day to day corporate stuff, other is my developer machine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 08:23 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Virtual machine then?
I still think a switch would be the best option.

What does your IT department have to propse to accomodate you?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 08:37 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Why can't you use a 4port switch at your desk? I do in my office, so I can work on my machine while fixing the company boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 09:18 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

I don't believe we have any switches left laying around here.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 09:24 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I don't believe we have any switches left laying around here.
15$ will get you one.
NCIX.com - Buy Trendnet TE100-S5 5 Port 10/100 Ethernet Switch - TRENDnet - TE100-S5 - in Canada
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 09:29 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

ICS works perfectly fine. Why spend money!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 09:37 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
ICS works perfectly fine. Why spend money!
A 2nd network card will be just as expensive, and then add this to the equation.
-open the computer case
-install the card
-close computer case
-install drivers
-set required settings
all that took what? 30 minutes? 30 minutes if he got the settings bang on the first time.

So lets say his nic cost him or his company 15$
Then lets assume he gets paid 20$/h
So 15$ for the nic, 10$ for the 30 minutes he used to set this up.
That's 25$ right there.

With a cheap switch... 15$ to buy the damn thing, 30 seconds to connect everything together.
Final cost? 15$

Who's waisting money?

When it comes to expanding his cubicle's network(to acommodate a third or forth computer), the switch wins again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right of Fox Network misterlarry Off Topic 6 April 19, 2010 03:21 PM
Network troubleshooting, what would you do? Squeetard Networking 9 February 23, 2010 08:05 AM
The Weather Network rjbarker Off Topic 3 December 8, 2008 11:03 PM
Network throttling Ogdin HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 July 21, 2008 10:20 PM
Network n00b help Matty D Networking 10 December 28, 2007 02:15 PM