Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 02:08 AM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default Best place for a wireless router?

I recently bought my first home which is a one story house which has a finished basement. I had the ISP technician hookup the cable modem next to the fuse/breaker panel in the basement as it would be not only an easier setup, but also a cleaner setup as well. I also hooked up my Netgear WNDR3700-100NAS RangeMax Dual Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router right beside the cable modem. I mounted them both on the wall next to the breaker/fuse electrical panel.

I'm noticing that I'm getting a pretty weak signal from my wireless router. Is it because I mounted the router on the wall next to the breaker/fuse electrical panel? Would the fuse/breaker panel interfere with the signal? What about having a cordless phone in proximity of the router and computer?

What can I do to boost the signal? Purchase a wireless repeater? Change the routers wireless channel? Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 02:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515

My System Specs

Default

Reading some reviews of that particular router, it seems its range is only average, and that was in 2009. I would first try changing wireless channels just to see if you get a better reception, but I'm wagering the average range and interference the floor is creating is your problem. Do you know what materials are used in the floor between your basement and upstairs?
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 08:05 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

a trash can is the best location for any wireless device.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 09:02 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 982
Default

If you aren't into drilling a hole in the floor so you can hardwire it on the main floor then what I'd probably do is move it a few feet away (or more) from the breaker box and mount it to the ceiling. Sorry, I just noticed it was a finished basement. Is the room where the fuse panel also finished? Is it drywalled in the basement or drop ceiling?
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 02:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

putting it beside an unshielded electrical line is only going to cause issues. The best , idealplace for a wireless router is in the center of the house really.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 07:51 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

That's a very solid router. Absolutely love mine. Granted I flashed it with DD-WRT right out of the box, but I have it in the middle of the basement (with a 75ft cable running back to my cable modem). It's a good looking device so it doesn't look that terrible being out in the open IMO. Mines located on one of the middle posts to support the main beam for the main floor. Other side is my laundry/furnace room so all the cables run in there out of sight from the finished part of the basement.

Maybe post a floor plan of your basement?

But yeah, can't have wireless signals beside the fuse panel. Nor should you have any unshielded Ethernet running by electric cabling. If you must, it should be perpendicular (90 degrees) to the electrical wires to help prevent electrical noise.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 12:28 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

you could try installing it in the attic :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2011, 10:45 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default

Its an older house, i'd say at least 50-60yrs old. The walls are drywalled as well as the ceiling in both upstairs and basement. The electrical is only two wire, hence no ground wire throughout the home which is really disappointing. I'd love to hardwire a direct line to my computer, but the ceiling in the basement is not a drop panel etc, its finished. What about using Powerline Networking? Is that any good to use?
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2011, 10:54 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

In all honesty, if you can't physically move it closer, try putting DD-WRT on it. I don't know about that specific router, but DD-WRT made my signal go from barely there and unstable to rock solid on my WRT150N.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 01:08 AM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
In all honesty, if you can't physically move it closer, try putting DD-WRT on it. I don't know about that specific router, but DD-WRT made my signal go from barely there and unstable to rock solid on my WRT150N.
What is DD-WRT?
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is there any benifet upgrading router from wireless g to wireless N? Shadowmeph Networking 4 April 26, 2011 08:12 AM
Wireless N Router & Wireless B/G Adapters cul8erppl Networking 11 September 3, 2010 02:02 AM
Need a new wireless router.. Realityshift Networking 16 June 5, 2009 07:27 PM
Wireless Router no_pulse Networking 14 January 6, 2009 11:41 PM
Wireless router, G vs. N Matty D Networking 5 January 9, 2008 11:01 PM