Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2011, 03:34 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default Daisy-Chain Routers

What I'm thinking about doing is not exactly a daisy-chain, but connecting a wireless router to anothers WIFI and using the 2nd router for a wired connection.

suggestions for a linksys router that comes with client options?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2011, 04:41 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Anything that runs DD-WRT should work for this. I don't think stock firmwares typically support this though.

Alternatively, you can buy a "wireless bridge" or "gaming adapter" which is basically a WiFi adapter, but has a single Ethernet port on it rather than a USB/PCI connection. You could hookup a switch to this as well if you need more than 1 port.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2011, 05:16 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I've done this the old school way. In my old place we had 3 routers, the one we got from bell, my solely wired router and my wireless router. I had it set up just in the settings for my two routers to just act like switches, with the wireless router broadcasting also broadcasting its wireless network giving me full coverage and all the ports i needed it didn't locations. The two routers were D-Links and if you plan/have either i could easily walk you through it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2011, 07:43 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

My quick research on the subject agrees that I should not expect stock firmware to have a client option.
I currently have a Linksys AE1000-CA USB Adaptor connected to one PC (works great) but I want to try with a router because...well just because lol.

Silly thing is I have two routers lent out as I did not need them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Games Chain Crashing littlenub923 Troubleshooting 6 September 23, 2010 06:59 AM
Gaming Routers - ? TokeR Networking 12 February 25, 2010 01:14 PM
Multiple routers DragonFlame Networking 9 August 21, 2009 12:51 PM
swapping routers lyned Networking 5 May 5, 2009 08:18 AM
Fan question (daisy chain) iv:xx Air Cooling 17 July 8, 2008 01:17 PM