Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 07:33 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default Please fill me in on this

So I was browsing London Drugs computer section and came across a linksys product that uses your electrical outlets to carry your internet signal. I always prefer hardwired things over wireless, so I thought this might be a good idea.

Buy.com Canada - Cisco Linksys PLK300 PowerLine AV Ethernet Adapter Kit&&

1. Is this product as fast/reliable as a cat5 cable?
2. Are there any drawbacks I need to know of?

I don't care that it is some money, where my router is in relation to my computer drilling and running cable isn't happening. Also, it was really difficult to find this product online, is it being discontinued or something?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 09:30 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

i tried a TrendNet kit when the powerline units first came out... what a waste of money. I'll never try it again... maybe someone using a more reliable kit can chime in on their bandwidth speeds in relation to a wireless N setup?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 09:38 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

The latest models are much better but they're rare and much more expensive than your regular wireless setup. If you don't like wireless I recommend you spend the money to get a good experience with it. I have a Dlink DIR-825 and used to not at all like Dlink, but they're great now. This router does N with 2.4 and 5ghz and has dual radio. Frankly I love it. I can stream 1080p over it no problem.

Btw if you have a house older than 15 years old stay away from those power solutions. They need decent power cables to work and the newer the better too.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 09:45 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

Alright, thanks for the responses. The house is 3 years old and the model I linked is the higher end "audio/video" model linksys offers. How would this experience compare to wireless N?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 09:50 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

I use them, works fine.

Powerline vs Wireless vs Ethernet Networking (NCIX Tech Tips #52) > Tech Review | Geek TV
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 02:35 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

I know of some ppl that use these products and are happy with the results. Netgear has a product that I know works well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 07:05 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BootlegUsher View Post
Alright, thanks for the responses. The house is 3 years old and the model I linked is the higher end "audio/video" model linksys offers. How would this experience compare to wireless N?
It highly depends on the quality of the in-house wiring. As you can see above people are happy with their performance. As your house is 3 years old, assuming the wiring was done right its probably got the best chance. Make sure you get a later model though, the very early ones that came out introduced high latency and weren't nearly as good.

The comparison to wireless is difficult to say without trying it. Wireless is generally a mixed bag as well given where you live. If its an apartment, then you have to find an unused channel and go from there. If you're in a semi detached or a single, you should generally be fine and get full coverage.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 04:21 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
It highly depends on the quality of the in-house wiring. As you can see above people are happy with their performance. As your house is 3 years old, assuming the wiring was done right its probably got the best chance. Make sure you get a later model though, the very early ones that came out introduced high latency and weren't nearly as good.
Is the model I linked in the OP a later model? Are there any better ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Why is it that the product in the video advertises 200 mbps but when Linus transfers the file he only gets 5-6?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 05:31 PM
MrDiaz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BootlegUsher View Post
Is the model I linked in the OP a later model? Are there any better ones?



Why is it that the product in the video advertises 200 mbps but when Linus transfers the file he only gets 5-6?
200 mbps is NOT mb/s. 200mbps is actually 25mb/s or so. And still, that's THEORETICAL speed
__________________
-- Viva Canada! --
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 07:23 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

Thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
desktop doesn't fill screen LacrosseTown Troubleshooting 5 July 18, 2010 12:08 PM
Photoshop CS5 Content-Aware Fill ipaine O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 13, 2010 05:49 PM
Photoshop Content Aware Fill kyle_L Off Topic 10 March 25, 2010 11:34 AM
My Partial Build (Please Help Me Fill In The Blanks).... mlauzon New Builds 32 November 25, 2008 03:44 PM
fill me in - online canuck retailers Ugly n Grey Off Topic 10 January 16, 2008 03:55 PM