Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 04:10 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default Load balancing

I have had this problem for ages with network balancing on my home network. By that I mean, if a couple of people are streaming a video on thier laptop or downloading at even very low rates via bittorrent, my connection comes to a grinding halt.

Is there a way to build some sort of load balancer to evenly allocate internet bandwidth to each client without the floodgates being opened for low bandwidth applications so everyone else can use the internet. I have looked around and all I really found was links to balancing multiple internet connections.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 04:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

QoS

Comes with almost any router you buy.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 04:45 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudd Rucker View Post
I have had this problem for ages with network balancing on my home network. By that I mean, if a couple of people are streaming a video on thier laptop or downloading at even very low rates via bittorrent, my connection comes to a grinding halt.

Is there a way to build some sort of load balancer to evenly allocate internet bandwidth to each client without the floodgates being opened for low bandwidth applications so everyone else can use the internet. I have looked around and all I really found was links to balancing multiple internet connections.
Can you please give more details about your network?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 04:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudd Rucker View Post
I have had this problem for ages with network balancing on my home network. By that I mean, if a couple of people are streaming a video on thier laptop or downloading at even very low rates via bittorrent, my connection comes to a grinding halt.

Is there a way to build some sort of load balancer to evenly allocate internet bandwidth to each client without the floodgates being opened for low bandwidth applications so everyone else can use the internet. I have looked around and all I really found was links to balancing multiple internet connections.
If I had to guess, I'd say that you haven't capped the upload on their torrent programs. Saturating the available upload bandwidth will absolutely destroy your connection even if you're not even close to your download limits.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 06:06 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

Seems im going to have to build myself a router as apparently my SMC 8014wn home gateway (it was free wireless N upgrade so I went with it) doesnt really support QoS apparently. The manual states it does, but thats as far as it goes for anything involving that. Havent been able to find anything either on how to set it up.

edit: I have tried capping bandwidth on bittorrent clients in the house as well to no avail. Just as a test I had set my laptop up to a 1kb/1kb cap , and even running at that my internet still crawls along at an infuriating speed.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 07:16 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

This is a cable connection? Could be that your area is congested.

However, I'm fairly sure everybody hates those SMC router/modem combos. You're much better off with a Motorola modem + whatever router you like.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 08:36 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If I had to guess, I'd say that you haven't capped the upload on their torrent programs. Saturating the available upload bandwidth will absolutely destroy your connection even if you're not even close to your download limits.
I'd just about bet my next paycheque this is the issue....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 09:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

lol, good luck with QoS with torrents. It just doesn't happen.

You need to have one torrenting program running on the WAN connection, and that upload needs to be capped at MAX 80% of your top upload speed. 50% is even better.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 03:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

I personally don't do torrents in the house, but if it were my system, I'd block the normal upload ports, and set Qos on the ports you decide to use for upload.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 09:40 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
lol, good luck with QoS with torrents. It just doesn't happen.

You need to have one torrenting program running on the WAN connection, and that upload needs to be capped at MAX 80% of your top upload speed. 50% is even better.
I have uTorrent running on a single PC (which happens to be my file server as well). The upload is capped at 80% during hours that I'm awake and full-speed when I'm not.

As such, I applied QoS to the MAC address of my server to place any and all WAN traffic into "bulk" priority (DD-WRT). Seems to work quite effectively. If I start downloading from HTTP on my PC, I can see the torrents drop off in speed. This works perfectly since the only WAN traffic on it is torrents.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard resets under 3D load SugarJ Troubleshooting 15 July 31, 2010 01:53 PM
BF BC2 Load times Rison Gaming 2 April 18, 2010 08:21 AM
Balancing my CPU/GPU Folding on the same rig Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 February 13, 2009 08:27 AM
can't load an operating system help dubbaz Troubleshooting 5 February 3, 2009 05:42 PM
Vista Load Error gsp5322 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 19, 2008 09:14 PM