Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 11:18 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Also, the amount of connections utorrent or any other bittorret program opens with also bring most consumer routers to their knees. Limit the # of connections (10-20 max) or get yourself a better router (pfsense, microtik, etc). I can run any # of torrents on one of these routers and it doesn't affect anything else.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 11:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I have uTorrent running on a single PC (which happens to be my file server as well). The upload is capped at 80% during hours that I'm awake and full-speed when I'm not.

As such, I applied QoS to the MAC address of my server to place any and all WAN traffic into "bulk" priority (DD-WRT). Seems to work quite effectively. If I start downloading from HTTP on my PC, I can see the torrents drop off in speed. This works perfectly since the only WAN traffic on it is torrents.
that's fine and all, now try doing that across more then one computer. also, use that computer for more then torrenting purposes. it becomes more difficult then.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 12:42 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 942

My System Specs

Default

I have tried all the suggestions before posting here, it seems that there seems to be an issue with bandwidth allocation and latency over my network regarless of router. Case and point - Downloading a torrent , max connection is 2 globally. Have it capped at 1kb up /1kb and it still can take up to 3 to 4 min to load webpages while downloading at the insane rate of 1kbps.

edit: forgot to mention, this issue doesnt seem to present itself when downloading via HTTP, only seems to be bittorrent and certain video streaming that seems to cause this problem.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.

Last edited by Fudd Rucker; March 7, 2011 at 01:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 03:13 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,870

My System Specs

Default

I'd blame it on the modem/router combo then.

Any way you can talk to your ISP and get a pure modem? Then buy your own router.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard resets under 3D load SugarJ Troubleshooting 15 July 31, 2010 01:53 PM
BF BC2 Load times Rison Gaming 2 April 18, 2010 08:21 AM
Balancing my CPU/GPU Folding on the same rig Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 February 13, 2009 08:27 AM
can't load an operating system help dubbaz Troubleshooting 5 February 3, 2009 05:42 PM
Vista Load Error gsp5322 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 19, 2008 09:14 PM