Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 2, 2011, 06:25 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Help unblocking BitComet listening port

Hi guys,

I installed BitComet today and it shows a yellow light next to my listening port, and it's telling me to check my firewall and router settings, but doesn't tell me exactly what to check for. The following is my internet set up.

Shaw cable modem --> D-Link DIR-655 router --> Zonealarm Free firewall --> my rig

I'm a noob when it comes to networking, so I'm not sure what I should be doing at this point. I found something online about port forwarding, but I don't think Shaw lets me set a static IP address and still connect to the internet.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Old March 2, 2011, 06:34 PM
Hall Of Fame

uninstall bitcomet inmmediately and install uTorrent

enable UPnP on your router (I think the dir-555 supports UPnP)
Old March 2, 2011, 07:16 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post

Thanks! For some reason my download speeds with uTorrent was really bad a couple years ago, but now it's even better than what I was getting from BitComet!
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White