Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 11:12 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,176

My System Specs

Default

I'm looking at the audit right now and in the fail I got one which say :
This event is generated when a logon request fails. It is generated on the computer where access was attempted.
__________________
[COLOR=black][SIZE=4][B]Ask for more
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2011, 10:57 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 256
Default

Sorry don't think I've seen that one with 2k3 and am not familiar with 2k8. But Googling yields some hits, hopefully others more familiar with 2k8 will jump in.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2011, 01:39 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,176

My System Specs

Default

Thx for the ehlp DCCV. If this issue go one I think I will have to call the bigger gun :P
__________________
[COLOR=black][SIZE=4][B]Ask for more
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2011, 05:41 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

hrm.. still could be anything. File services role installed? Firewall off? Can you connect to the share locally on the 2k8 server? (i.e. \\localhost from windows explorer on the server?) The NTFS permissions could be properly set, but there is a special share-permissions tab too... is your user allowed access in that screen too?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2011, 07:12 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,176

My System Specs

Default

I have to check at permission but I'm pretty sure they are well done. I can also acces the server with localhost.
There is a new devlopement. Now I can ping both computer to both with success which wasn't the case before. Could it be a router issue?
__________________
[COLOR=black][SIZE=4][B]Ask for more
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 06:29 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,176

My System Specs

Default

Little update. I was trying few different thing when I decided to ditch out win server 2K8 for a win 7. After setting up everything, I end up with the same issue! Even between 2 win 7 pc!!! Now I don't understand anymore -_-
__________________
[COLOR=black][SIZE=4][B]Ask for more
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 08:46 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,488

My System Specs

Default

Same IP subnets? Same workgroup names?

Are you going through a router?
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 09:22 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,176

My System Specs

Default

Yep, using a WRT54G2. Double checked the setting in it and everything seems fine. Now I am using 2 windows 7 ( swapped the server to win 7 ) and still have the same error. But I also can't see other PC homegroup on each other. They both ask me to creat a new one instead of joining one existing. I think I will have to re-install windows on my main machine which is my worst nightmare -_-
__________________
[COLOR=black][SIZE=4][B]Ask for more
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows SMP on server 2008 martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 December 29, 2010 03:22 AM
Windows Server 2008 Guest access question ADay2Long O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 June 26, 2010 10:57 AM
Server 2008 R2 JD HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 January 29, 2010 12:57 PM
Windows Server 2008, as my main OS. decivox O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 March 3, 2009 08:15 AM
Server 2008 as a Workstation :) lcdguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 July 30, 2008 03:46 PM