Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 01:35 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I already saw this one.
Tryed to ping with both name and IP and it end that the windows shut down before I canr ead if it work or not but there is a time in MS so both computer respond to the other. I also tryed ot look at all setting he propose, and the firewall since people have issue with it in this post. But still no match. I totally haev no idea what's going on here.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 01:43 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Passwords on both accounts?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 02:08 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

yep, both use password. But I don't see how that would play?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 06:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Did you enable Network Discovery and File Sharing in the Network and Sharing Center on Server 2008 R2? Granted the options don't appear to be there once you go back, but in reality they are.

If it's only straight 2008, then I can't recall where it was in Vista. I believe there's a similar option though.

And you should have the same username/password as local accounts on both the server and desktops. That account should be granted permissions in the Sharing and Security tabs on whatever folder you're sharing.

If you don't want to setup and use identical accounts on both server and desktop, then you'll have to modify the Local Security Policy to change the way the File Sharing works. By default in Server, it's set to authenticate, but on Desktop OS's it's set to Guest mode. Meaning that you need credentials on the server to access resources but on desktops when you share something, it doesn't care who's attempting to access it.

And the other alternative, setup an Active Directory structure and everything will work without issues ;) Obviously a bit more complex though.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 07:29 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Thx for the input JD. Unfortunatly, same password on both computer so they are both complying with windows server 2008 request ( capital letter + letter + number ) And all of the above setting are on. This issue is verry pissing me off ( see the rage ).
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 08:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
yep, both use password. But I don't see how that would play?
I guess everyone's beating on that horse because without a password you'll be logging on with Guest credentials.

I wonder if an audit on user account logon events will show the remote logon being successful..?
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 08:56 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCV44.2223 View Post
I guess everyone's beating on that horse because without a password you'll be logging on with Guest credentials.

I wonder if an audit on user account logon events will show the remote logon being successful..?
I would agree but I don't understand?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 09:49 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

i dont know how your setup is but i have a home server running windows server2008R2 and you just share the folders VIA smb and in windows 7 you would type //(server name or IP) this would allow primitive access.

I also have my server acting as an active domain controller (which also requires it to run dns ) but this makes all logins universal to all computers in the domain ....so my whole home network.
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 10:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
I would agree but I don't understand?
One of the biggest problem with logging into shares with Guest credentials is that MSFT keeps tinkering with the restrictions that apply to the Guest account with such version of Windows. It's one of the most common encountered cause for sharing problems -- but if you're using identical accounts with PW it doesn't apply to you.

For your situation, if you can audit the user account involved and showed that the remote access was successful then the problem would likely be in the access control of the share. If the audit showed the remote access failed, then the problem would likely lies with the user account.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 09:29 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, having win2k3/2k8 at home is a PITA if you haven't set it up often and tinkered with it. There are so many things to go through to troubleshoot this.

Off the top of my head, if you're not running a domain on the win2k8 server - make sure both PCs are in the same workgroup. Make sure the username to the PC and username setup on the server are the same + same password.
There is also a feature in windows server that not only enables security for the share, but you want to modify the owner of the share - where you want to add guest or everyone to this field. I can't remember right off the top of my head, but it's found by hitting 'advanced' button on the lower right on the share properties of the folder/drive.
Also check the log files, in Event Viewer (In control panel > Administrative Tools) to see the errors it's showing on the server side when the client tries to connect.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows SMP on server 2008 martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 December 29, 2010 02:22 AM
Windows Server 2008 Guest access question ADay2Long O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 June 26, 2010 10:57 AM
Server 2008 R2 JD HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 January 29, 2010 11:57 AM
Windows Server 2008, as my main OS. decivox O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 March 3, 2009 07:15 AM
Server 2008 as a Workstation :) lcdguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 July 30, 2008 03:46 PM