Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2011, 01:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default Setting up a PS3 for windows media center

As the title of this thread states. Does anyone on this forums know how to set up a ps3 to connect to windows media center.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2011, 10:51 AM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

Here's a video showing how to do it in Win7: YouTube - Share files between PS3 and Windows 7

I think if you have any other version of Windows you have to install a third party media server on the PC side. Not sure though as I had the Win7 ease of use.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 07:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 46
Default

here's a tip i found the hard way for my ps3.

IF you are doing this for videos, don't even bother with media center, it sucks in every possible way.

ps3mediaserver.blogspot. com

Best software ever. Transcodes and plays almost any video file i've used to date, with exception of x-files i had an issue with. Plays mkv's etc.

I believe it can do pictures and music too but i don't use it for that and probably won't anytime soon. You could try it out.

Also if you want to stream HD content you will need to put your PC and PS3 on wires. The wireless NIC in the ps3 is not able to handle much more than 25mb/s ish. With 720-1080p you will want at minimum 50-60 (wired usually runs 70-80 for me...).

Anymore questions let me know but yes... don't even use windows media, so difficult to do anything with.
__________________
Heat
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 08:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

ps3 media server does everything tho some things are a bit more complicated and complex to setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 11:36 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Media center is teh lamez. As mentioned, get ps3mediaserver or another good alternative is TVersity.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 05:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Media center is teh lamez. As mentioned, get ps3mediaserver or another good alternative is TVersity.
Agreed.

I only don't mention TVersity because in my general overview it was not quite as sufficient as ps3mediaserver.

Not to mention TVersity doesn't play a lot of files like MKV's natively. Simply since ps3mediaserver has 2 (or 3?) transcoding engines embedded it will do just about 90% of video files. You can even get subtitles with a lot of videos too if you such prefer, just download the... srt? or whatever the file is from some subtitle website and you are good to go.

As i said i've only had issue with all 9 seasons of xfiles i downloaded and it just doesn't have sound... i don't know why i never really investigated lol.
__________________
Heat
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 12:44 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Grande Prairie Alberta
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default

So does TVersity work at all? I am tired of the "hitching" while streaming, and I have tried using PS3 mediaserver, but my pc and ps3 didnt play well together with it
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:37 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

I've got ps3 media server working and I love it. I have one stupid question though. Do you guys leave it on all the time or just launch the the app when you go to watch a movie or something?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:42 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
I've got ps3 media server working and I love it. I have one stupid question though. Do you guys leave it on all the time or just launch the the app when you go to watch a movie or something?
I pretty much ran the app every time I needed to use it.

The computer it ran on I used day to day and could have technically left it running but didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:49 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

I use tversity for everything, works fine for me.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] HP Media Center PC m8226x norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 6, 2010 12:14 PM
Windows Media Center w/ SP3 Reports 1.75GB of RAM Saterial RAM 4 August 2, 2009 03:46 PM
[FS] HTPC KIT PVR1600, OFFICIAL MS Media Center Remote/keyboard + XP media Center 2005 b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 10 January 9, 2009 03:00 PM
[WTB] Windows XP Media Center Remote! Scotch Tape Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 2, 2008 07:11 PM
Need HELP setting up Media Center PC!!! SKYMTL HTPC Systems & Software 26 November 5, 2007 05:02 PM