Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 12:52 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I use tversity for everything, works fine for me.
I find Tversity is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO slow compared to PS3 Media Server.

With PS3 Media Server I can pretty much extract a movie to the .iso file and within seconds I can be playing it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 04:15 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 499

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
I've got ps3 media server working and I love it. I have one stupid question though. Do you guys leave it on all the time or just launch the the app when you go to watch a movie or something?
I made it a startup program to simplify things for my wife; this way she just has to turn the computer on and she can watch whatever she wants on the PS3.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 07:07 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Anyone find that PS3mediaserver just shuts itself down sometimes? I leave it running 24/7 (the machine runs 24/7), and sometimes I will go to watch a recording and its just not running anymore.

Thought something was funky on install, but the same thing seems to happen after I did a reformat.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 07:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Anyone find that PS3mediaserver just shuts itself down sometimes? I leave it running 24/7 (the machine runs 24/7), and sometimes I will go to watch a recording and its just not running anymore.

Thought something was funky on install, but the same thing seems to happen after I did a reformat.
I randomly had this issue too and could never figure out why.

It seemed to mostly do it with certain codecs more than anything.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 09:08 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Cool thanks for the replies guys. I think I'll just leave it off until I want to use it.

So far from my experience, ps3 media server is the best one I've tried. Twonky, TVersity and Win Media all had some kind of issues that frustrated me. Either it had to do with formats or it was slow. I can see everything on my comp with this one and play pretty much anything sans digital copies I have to use with iTunes (cause that's the format I chose at the time). Not sure if there's a way around that yet, haven't really checked.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 09:20 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Slow it what way? I use tversity because I run a PS3 in one room and WDTV in another and I want both to run from the same server. Havent had 1 issue with tversity.
Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I find Tversity is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO slow compared to PS3 Media Server.

With PS3 Media Server I can pretty much extract a movie to the .iso file and within seconds I can be playing it.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] HP Media Center PC m8226x norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 6, 2010 01:14 PM
Windows Media Center w/ SP3 Reports 1.75GB of RAM Saterial RAM 4 August 2, 2009 04:46 PM
[FS] HTPC KIT PVR1600, OFFICIAL MS Media Center Remote/keyboard + XP media Center 2005 b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 10 January 9, 2009 04:00 PM
[WTB] Windows XP Media Center Remote! Scotch Tape Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 2, 2008 08:11 PM
Need HELP setting up Media Center PC!!! SKYMTL HTPC Systems & Software 26 November 5, 2007 06:02 PM