Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
View Poll Results: Which one and Why
Smoothwall 3.0 1 14.29%
IP Cop 0 0%
Monowall 0 0%
PFSense 6 85.71%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 02:17 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default Which OS

So i am building an atom based router for rack mounting. The hardware has been ordered now i just need to decide on the OS any perference and why. I have used them all before and can't decide.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 02:39 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Ive heard good things about PFSense, so my vote goes there I guess, lol.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 04:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Out of those 4 I only liked PFsense and Smoothwall, PFsense already got some love so I voted Smoothwall.

Is this for home or work? It seems all your choices are leaning towards commercial style distros.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 04:50 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

this is for my home install. However i am running some servers on my home network that and i am tired of having to reboot my linksys router all the time.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 08:38 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

smoothwall or pfsense.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 08:54 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ya i have been playing around with them in a VM tonight and i really liked pfsense. I like that the QOS is stupid easy to setup. The only catch i can see is there doesn't seem to be any DHCP/DNS Masquerading as i need to pass dhcp option 66 as i have some voip phones on my network that need to boot from a TFTP server. Is this something that can be easily accomplished
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes