Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 08:40 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default port forwarding?

how exactly does this work?

The problem im currently having is related to utorrent and WoW.

whenever i, or my brothers use utorrent, WoW completely stops working, so i updated my wrt54g firmware, and went to port forwarding.



this however didnt work.

is there anyway to prevent utorrent from using these ports?
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 08:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

It has nothing to do with port forwarding it has to do with you and torrents.

Tell utorrent to not use so much upload bandwidth and you'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 08:46 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

You can also manually set the port that utorrent uses in the options. I use 8888. Don't forget to open it on your router.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 08:49 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
You can also manually set the port that utorrent uses in the options. I use 8888. Don't forget to open it on your router.

how would i do that?
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:07 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

under preferences/connections you can set the port. and under bandwidth you can set maximum global upload/download limits.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; December 29, 2010 at 09:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:21 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

i set the max download rate at 250kb/s and the problem still arises.

i have a 10mb connection, so that shouldn't be bothering me at all
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:24 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i would set your max upload rate too cause you may be having a problem keeping a link to the server. and manually set your ports for both, sorry i don't play wow not sure what ports it likes to use.

edit VVVVV yup that's what i do set it to 20kb/s works wonders
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; December 30, 2010 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 11:41 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

You could have a 100mbit download link, and if you saturate your upload it's game over.

Set your upload bandwidth to 20K/sec and you should be fine.

The other problem may be related to tcp timeouts, which I'll post up about if throttling your upload doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 05:12 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
You could have a 100mbit download link, and if you saturate your upload it's game over.

Set your upload bandwidth to 20K/sec and you should be fine.

The other problem may be related to tcp timeouts, which I'll post up about if throttling your upload doesn't work.
i set it to 1 in utorrent, and it still occurs.

i went into my router and set QoS for my pc at highest.

and i set the ports that wow uses at highest

still occurs.


i set max global peers to 100 (they had it at like 500 before)

problem still occurs.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 05:26 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

it must be your router strange
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI -> DISPLAY PORT -> MINI DISPLAY PORT -> GPU ? JoshOohAh Video Cards 2 December 25, 2010 08:44 PM
TP-LINK TD-8840T with torrent and port forwarding _dangtx_ Guides & How-to's 0 September 21, 2010 07:30 PM
Drain port martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 21 June 14, 2010 07:37 PM
how does port forwarding work? Cadence Networking 5 March 12, 2010 09:29 PM
Simple Port Forwarding? (free app) sswilson Networking 1 January 12, 2010 06:14 AM