Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 05:14 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

go here : Router Database | www.dd-wrt.com

check your router model AND version number. if ok, flash away.

then come back.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 05:43 PM
MrDiaz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

if you're using port forwarding you should also have static IPs in your network :P

But anyway, this problem has nothing to do with ports from what I've read. Many things could be causing this, your ms could go sky high if you're downloading via torrents (uTorrent or w.e other one for that matter).
__________________
-- Viva Canada! --
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 05:54 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
go here : Router Database | www.dd-wrt.com

check your router model AND version number. if ok, flash away.

then come back.
should have mentioned i already did that.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 05:56 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDiaz View Post
if you're using port forwarding you should also have static IPs in your network :P

But anyway, this problem has nothing to do with ports from what I've read. Many things could be causing this, your ms could go sky high if you're downloading via torrents (uTorrent or w.e other one for that matter).
yea, i made my ip static =/
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 06:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good, then we got to work with your modem. i need a model and revision number.

screens with options if i cant find the manual online. ive tweaked for torrent use stuff made ages ago and newer ones too.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 07:57 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

Avoiding slow downs when downloading(namely for other users on the network)

Follow that, only make the TCP timeout 360 as I've had issues with the 120 shown. UDP timeout at 120 is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 09:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Default

his ISP might be choking him when detecting torrent activity..

make sure your torrent encryption option is set to forced.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 02:37 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Avoiding slow downs when downloading(namely for other users on the network)

Follow that, only make the TCP timeout 360 as I've had issues with the 120 shown. UDP timeout at 120 is fine.
i cant seem to find that.

im using a linksys wrt54g
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 02:42 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
good, then we got to work with your modem. i need a model and revision number.

screens with options if i cant find the manual online. ive tweaked for torrent use stuff made ages ago and newer ones too.
o nvm, i didnt do that, i thought you just mean upgrade the firmware.

ill try that
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 07:30 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

was thinking it may be a tcp timeout too just don't have any routers right know to test my self. good luck
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI -> DISPLAY PORT -> MINI DISPLAY PORT -> GPU ? JoshOohAh Video Cards 2 December 25, 2010 07:44 PM
TP-LINK TD-8840T with torrent and port forwarding _dangtx_ Guides & How-to's 0 September 21, 2010 06:30 PM
Drain port martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 21 June 14, 2010 06:37 PM
how does port forwarding work? Cadence Networking 5 March 12, 2010 08:29 PM
Simple Port Forwarding? (free app) sswilson Networking 1 January 12, 2010 05:14 AM