Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2010, 03:51 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default Ping Spikes Every 8 Seconds?

Hey guys, just started running into an issue with my Buffalo nfiniti HP-300NH router. Since I started trying to play CoD Black ops, possibly before but never paid attention to my ping in most games, I have been getting ping spikes from 300-1000ms every 8 seconds exactly. If I disconnect the router and go straight through the modem the ping spikes stop... I have upgraded to the newest non DD firmware, I have never used the DD firmwares so Im not sure if I wanna delve into that yet.

My question is what settings would cause a lag spike every 8 seconds? I thought maybe it was something to do with shaw or my PC, but considering the direct line to the modem fixes it I guess its router.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 07:28 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

3 things I do any time i see something strange on a router.

1) upgrade firmware [check]
2) change the port you are using on the router/switch
3) change patch cables
4) change the AUTO speed detect on the WAN to something lower (like 10mbit full duplex)

after that i pretty much toss the unit and get a new one. New replacement routers are priced too low to spend days farting around with a mis-behaving router; it really isn't worth the time.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 08:36 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,487

My System Specs

Default

If it's a "timed" issue that goes away when you connect direct to the mdm, I'd verify the cabling (use the same as the direct connect), check the power to ensure that there wasn't something else on the CCT that might be causing interference, do a reset/firmware reload, and then replace.

If it were an issue when you were connected to the modem, I'd suspect a ground fault of some form (either with the cable coming in, or with the power supplied to the modem) which is why I'd be looking at the power source.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 08:53 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

It could also be another program in the background trying to steal bandwidth and the router is choking/throttling the connection. A modem won't do that so it won't show up when you directly connect to the modem. Check to make sure no other programs are trying to connect to the internet (on your PC and any other PCs on your network if you have any) and make sure you have no spyware on your systems as well.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 07:39 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Do the spikes affect game play? Ping (ICMP) may have been affected by something in the router's settings but that doesn't necessarily mean UDP packets (which is what most games use) are also affected.

If you're using wired connection can you disable the router's wireless networking (thus reducing the load on the router's processor) and see if the spikes go away.

Check router's firewall settings and see if any option for Denial-of-Service protection is enabled.

If the router supports DMZ, put the system in the DMZ (after making sure Window's firewall is enabled). This will check if it's the router's firewall that's causing the spikes.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 03:25 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

I seem to have fixed it by doing a 30/30/30 reset of the router and modem, so far it seems to have held but im going to watch for it to happen again.. this is the first time the router has acted up, until now it was rock solid. It was effecting game play though, every 8 seconds id have a massive ping spike while playing, if that wasnt the case, id have just solid lag issues like the game was just evening out the spikes into the mean game play.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 05:23 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Problem came back again, 30/30/30 fixed it again, seems every couple days or so.. odd.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 05:32 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,079

My System Specs

Default

Might be someone hacking your router ?
Watch your GB See its bigger than it should be.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 05:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

try disabling DHCP, give your computer a static address and see if that solves the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2010, 08:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Did you power-off everything on the network -- modem, router, switches, NAS, etc. -- before restarting?

And if it comes back can you put the system in the DMZ and disable wireless as suggested in previous message? It may narrow down the one component within the router is causing the ping spikes, e.g., wireless, packet filtering (firewall, QoS, etc) or NAT'ing.

I'm guessing the ping spikes are to a WAN address? Do you see ping spikes to LAN addresses too?
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to ping computer on the network Kilauea Gaming 2 February 21, 2010 06:07 PM
Lag Spikes!!! automatic Networking 3 January 31, 2009 11:53 PM
ping shayan288 Gaming 6 January 2, 2009 06:41 PM
Constant Ping spikes Phobia Networking 10 July 24, 2008 06:26 PM
14 seconds to boot Scart CPU's and Motherboards 16 April 13, 2008 05:22 AM