Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 05:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default Need help finding a new ISP!

I am running a Counter Strike: Source server in my basement, and It takes up abou 120GB/month bandwidth, the problem is that 1 It takes up so much bandwidth and I plan on getting more servers if I can get some old computers and secondly my half megabit upload is garbage.

REQUIREMENTS:

Unlimited Bandwidth (Or anything over 200 just to be safe)
1.5 MEGABIT OR about 1/4th MEGABYTE per second UPLOAD
DL doesnt matter much.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 05:02 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,916

My System Specs

Default

Need to know your location firstly....

Secondly, not sure you'll find any connection with 1.5Mbit upload, at least residential.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 05:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

I live in mount albert, just north east of newmarket (in ontario)

Its about a 10 minute drive. to and from.

Bell has 7mb/s upload but its an upgrade and their bandwidth is capped. I hate bandwidth caps, they're retarded.
I might get the 7 mb/s upgrade, and get the full bandwidth upgrades and just pay whatever it goes over every month.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 05:44 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

what about MLPPP Teksavvy? if you are close to the CO, two lines should get you close to 1.2mb/s, three for sure would get you 1.5+.

with 2 lines you would be paying less than $100/month, even if dry loop, a lot less if you have phone service. bandwidth for even the limited accounts would be 400GB (200GB x 2) or with three lines 600GB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 05:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
what about MLPPP Teksavvy? if you are close to the CO, two lines should get you close to 1.2mb/s, three for sure would get you 1.5+.

with 2 lines you would be paying less than $100/month, even if dry loop, a lot less if you have phone service. bandwidth for even the limited accounts would be 400GB (200GB x 2) or with three lines 600GB.
You think I could do that? I want to keep it under $65 a month, so maybe I can get 2.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 06:03 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

oh yeah, MLPPP works great. you just need a tomato/MLPP capable router (WRT54GL is ideal) and a couple modems. the only other requirement is two phone line pairs in the house for the modems.

it is very straight forward once you have all hardware requirements met, but not sure you can keep it under $65. Would be $32 x 2 + $4 MLPPP (includes static IP) + taxes. That would get you 400GB/month bandwidth.

Teksavvy has a site that basically walks you through it.

TekSavvy Solutions Inc - FAQ MLPPP FAQ

i can also answer any questions, but check the site out...should explain everything.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 07:20 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

why not look at hosting the game server on a remote vps.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 05:08 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

yeah i would agree with lcd....get a dedi server for VPS .....you could run 10+ servers of a 100Mbit box
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help finding the right driver Burkdaddy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 13, 2010 07:01 PM
Help finding drivers please Burkdaddy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 March 1, 2010 05:34 AM
Help finding a component: Rommel Audio 3 February 3, 2009 08:48 AM
Need help finding a certain cable Kentalish Audio 5 July 10, 2008 06:52 AM
Need some help finding those ebdoradz Off Topic 0 March 17, 2008 07:42 AM