Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2010, 06:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default Asus RT-N13U

Does anyone have this router?

I'd like to pick the brain of someone that owns it. Else I'm writing a mini-review on it too.

-Lark

FOR THE QUICK EDIT: Avoid this router at all costs. this additonal piece of asus garbage (I really hate asus, btw), while decently quick to set up wired connections (duh) and internet, it will not connect wireless clients properly at all, and if it does by some power of god, the ping to the ROUTER is 100ms+ (I saw it at over 2000ms!). The interface is mediocre at best, Dr. Surf is near-useless, and simple changes to settings require significant reboot times.

I'm going to flash DD-WRT on there and hope to god the performance increases and I can recover my purchase, else this puppy is shipping straight back to the store. (I hope CC won't dock me 15%, this product clearly does not work.)

I really hate Asus, I really do.


EDIT NUMBER TWOOOOOOO! - Flashed DD-WRT on it with relative ease. the wireless performed the same. couldn't even barely ping the router. I'm reasonably sure the wireless radio defective, so I'm going to take it back :\ SO MUCH HATE..

maybe I should actually take recommendations this time around.... though if anyone suggests Asus I -will- burn your house down.

Last edited by LarkStarr; September 13, 2010 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 07:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

for the up-top bump, maybe some people can comment?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 08:58 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

I am not trying to piss you off, but my Asus RT-N16 flashed to the latest DD-WRT big build works flawlessly.

Maybe your N13 is defective, or just not as good as the N16.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 11:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

If just not as good = no wireless then you're correct. I didn't think spending $100 on a router was necessary. I hope my unit was just defective but now I'm weary of using Asus again. this is the 4th failed product in two years.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS p6x58D Premium versus Asus Rampage Extreme III Timid newbe New Builds 2 August 17, 2010 01:09 PM
Asus Rampage II GENE vs Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Rocco_360 CPU's and Motherboards 3 February 26, 2010 12:04 PM
Installing SSD & W7 (Using Asus Recovery Disc) On Asus G51J Notebooks rjbarker Mobile Computing 0 February 19, 2010 11:36 AM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 09:46 AM
Asus Rampage II GENE vs Asus P6T Deluxe V2..which one? Rocco_360 New Builds 3 April 4, 2009 08:29 PM