Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 07:07 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default Bridge/Team network connections

Hey, so right now for the next little while I have two different DSL lines coming into my place. I would like to be able to plug them both into my machine and be able to increase my total overall speed.

I'm not really sure if this can be done or not. I know that if I bridged the connections in windows it just gave me the speed of the lower speed connection. I do know that the mobo does support teaming but I am not sure how to go about this.

Anyone have any experience with this or words of advice? I would just like to be able to enjoy speeds of almost 40Mbit if I can do that.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 09:25 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Not really possible. The most you can do is load balance on them I'd say. And who knows how well that'll work in Windows/onboard LANs.

You could, in theory, do MLPPP on a Tomato-based router, but I'm guessing the ISP doesn't allow that since the only one that does (TekSavvy) doesn't offer 20Mbit connections.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 03:47 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

Bridge = new term for Internet Connection Sharing
Teaming = logical network fail over connection on a LAN

what you need is Dual WAN router, and yes it could be ISP limited like jdrom17 is saying.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Link DWL-G520 Can't Find Wireless Connections geokilla Networking 12 June 30, 2010 02:15 PM
HELP Fan connections with CM932 case? johndh New Builds 3 December 15, 2009 09:49 PM
Windows 7 Multiple Connections Come Up & Internet Access Fails Apathetik O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 November 12, 2009 05:52 PM
Audio noise in front panel connections Wrench Audio 1 February 15, 2009 10:49 AM
680i sata connections Unklmo Troubleshooting 6 August 2, 2007 10:25 PM