Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 07:57 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default Laptop+router as wireless repeater

In my summer school class most people have a laptop, but the problem is that the schools wireless network is to far from use to use and the techie is off on holidays and the room locked. I was planning on re broadcasting the signal using my old laptop and a wireless router. I set up the laptop with ICS but it doesn't seem to be connecting to the router properly and sharing the internet. Any suggestions. (Btw I am testing this out at home first with my wireless connection)
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 08:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,699

My System Specs

Default

Don't you have to put your laptop wireless card into ad-hoc mode or something like that? Not sure the system is designed to work in the way you want it to... going the other way works fine (merging your ethernet port with your wireless connection so that something plugged into the port shares the connection), but your wireless card wouldn't normally function in such a way that it allows other PCs to connect to it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 08:23 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

No I mean the laptop connects to the wireless access point, then the router connects to the laptop via the ethernet port and the router lets other people connect to it wireless which then connects them to the internet.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 08:30 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,599

My System Specs

Default

sswilson is right about that. You're forgetting that that laptop will have to be logged in under your school username and password to access the network, and if you share this connection everyone is spoofing as you and not only is this most likely against the terms of usage with your school anyone who uses it has you as their cover.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 08:37 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

I don't have to be logged on, the infrastructure is new so they haven't implemented that policy yet (because it's still the summer and they are being slow about it) They don't know what computer I'm on and is they do I'm willing to risk it. And this is what I am asking, you and sswilson must have misunderstood. schools Access point ---> laptop---> ICS or bridged internet connection---> ethernet ---> wireless router---> other laptops. The problem is the router connecting to the Ethernet port and connecting to the internet. I don't know how to set it up.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 08:39 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,699

My System Specs

Default

Even without considering the legal issues, you're also looking at the router doing DHCP through a single connection. Not sure if you'd need to set the router up as a switch or disable DHCP or something similar.....

OTOH, I'll tell you the same thing I used to tell folks who weren't concerned about people stealing their bandwidth with an unsecure wireless network.... it's not how much they're using, it's what they're using it for. Do you really want the RCMP at your door asking you about the stuff "you've" been uploading and downloading to kiddie porn websites?

edit: Have you checked to see if a PC plugged into the ethernet port is able to connect through it?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 08:48 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Damn it ok the truth fine >.> there is a guy across the street with a wireless connection that's insecure. We've all been connecting to it but they haven't figured it out. Some people (such as myself) are just to far away. I used to broadcast the schools Ethernet (the firewall and website filter was still up) with my router, but the techie said I had to stop. I don't really know how the RCMP or police would know it was me. This computer is old and I never use it, not to mention I'm going to be done in about a week. Is it so much to ask to have internet to check emails? Ya don't hold this against me my intentions aren't bad just fueled by boredom and an internet addiction.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Wireless b/g router Caldezar Buy/Sell & Trade 4 July 1, 2009 10:51 PM
[WTT] For Wireless N router mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 20, 2009 10:25 AM
[WTB] Wireless Repeater bandaide Buy/Sell & Trade 2 February 28, 2009 03:57 PM
Wireless Router no_pulse Networking 14 January 6, 2009 11:41 PM
Wireless router, G vs. N Matty D Networking 5 January 9, 2008 11:01 PM