Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 11:16 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 758

My System Specs

Default Network cable in Ottawa.

Know of a good place to pick up a box of Cat5 in Ottawa? most computer shops are over 150$ for 1000ft... I know those can be found under 100, i'm just trying to find out where
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 11:36 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

I have no experience at buying boxes of this stuff, but wouldn't a hardware store be a better place to look for better prices on cabling?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 12:27 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,089

My System Specs

Default

Try an electrical supply outlet.

Find Local electrical supply in Ottawa, ON | YellowPages.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 01:14 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyllz View Post
Know of a good place to pick up a box of Cat5 in Ottawa? most computer shops are over 150$ for 1000ft... I know those can be found under 100, i'm just trying to find out where
Have you tried active components on merivale yet. They sell this kind of thing. Also is there specific reason you need bulk cable. (ie doing inwall runs) or could you get by with premade cables as i have ordered from monoprice before and the prices are dirt cheap and quality cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
I have no experience at buying boxes of this stuff, but wouldn't a hardware store be a better place to look for better prices on cabling?

Actually not always as since most hardware stores don't carry much stock. there is generally a large markup on this type of product. Which is why it's better to go with a store that specializes in this type of product such as Active Components or if you don't mind ordering online monoprice.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 02:23 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 758

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
could you get by with premade cables as i have ordered from monoprice before and the prices are dirt cheap and quality cables.
They just poured the foundation of my new house, once the walls are up, i'm going to wire it up to the tits in Cat5...
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 02:37 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,089

My System Specs

Default

Actually, you should wire in Cat 6 so you can do 1000 Mbps networking. I don't think Cat 5 is rated for over 100 Mbps.

And Monoprice has 1000' bulk cable as well. $65 for Cat 5e and $95 for Cat 6.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 02:54 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 758

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Actually, you should wire in Cat 6 so you can do 1000 Mbps networking. I don't think Cat 5 is rated for over 100 Mbps.

And Monoprice has 1000' bulk cable as well. $65 for Cat 5e and $95 for Cat 6.
Monoprice ends up being 70$ shipping to my place... bastards...

I found a place in Ottawa, I'm picking up a box of Cat5 and maybe Cat6 tomorrow, i'll see the price difference.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 02:58 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,089

My System Specs

Default

Make sure what you're picking up is in-wall rated. It makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 03:20 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Try these guys, they are in Ottawa and are not too bad:

Looks like they are going out of business and are liquidating there stock so you may get some good deals.

Network Supply - Computer Hardware, Software and Networking Products
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 09:30 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,096

My System Specs

Default ShopRBC

shopRBC.com :: Cables To Go 500' CAT6 Solid Bulk PVC Network Cable, Grey

There just off the Quensway at Moodie. Right next to TD Bank same parking lot.

they have good prices on most network stuff.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling Ottawa? johnnyuterus Canadian LAN Parties & Events 71 October 26, 2010 09:38 PM
[FS] Xbox 360: Halo 3 ODST, HDMI AV Cable, VGA AV Cable (All Brand New) icarus2 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 20, 2009 11:30 AM
rogers data network ottawa lcdguy Off Topic 1 August 25, 2009 06:48 AM
Those of you in Ottawa, i need your help! mattlef Off Topic 18 April 16, 2009 05:52 AM
Need help in Ottawa or Montreal! francois methot Off Topic 16 October 24, 2007 06:38 AM