Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2007, 09:56 PM
slugbug's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal Area
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
Here in mtl 25/1 is available for 44bucks.. 50mbps are available also but hell i don't need that speed.
Which company offers those? Are you talking about ADSL2 24mbit which is only available in downtown Montreal?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2007, 04:43 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,904
Default

The 24mbps are available in St Laurent where I live (that's not really downtown from what I know)..the 50 I'm not sure..
gosansfil.com a guy from dslreports is with them and I think he'll post some impressions later on...
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2007, 06:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Great to hear that you're finally gonna be able to join the 21'st century Babs!!!

I actually don't think the $75 / month is all that bad of a deal for unlimited dl/ul anywhere a cell phone would be able to connect.

I remember the horror stories of folks who used their cell phones for data transfer without reading the fine print about how much it cost / minute or / meg of dl/ul.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 02:03 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

What're the speeds actually like? I know my cell phone only tests to about 2Mb/s in a speedtest.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 10:26 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

My Dad is out in Neguac, NB and well they can't get highspeed out there, so I should tell him about this. He maybe interested in it.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 10:58 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I haven't done a speed test, but it's advertised as around 3.2MBpS download and 1.5MBpS download- you'll get those speeds if you are in ev-do coverage (I am)- but it isn't that much slower out of the ev-do zone provided you have decent cellular coverage.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 12:17 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

I'd be very surprised if you can get those speeds off of it. A quick search says that people are getting stuff more like 600-700kb/s off of it. So it's decent but not quite HSDPA. It's still better than nothing though (and faster than my connection right now).
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 01:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,776

My System Specs

Default

Is there any 25/1 in Laval.. just next to MTL ?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 08:42 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Just in case some random person finds thread through google- I don't want it to serve as advertising for Aliant because they suck.

I have started another thread to rant about this but for the record, they (Aliant) have informed me that my "unlimited usage" package is not in fact unlimited and that they are cancelling my contract and making me pay by the Gigabyte $60 for the first, and $1 per MB after that- so if I end up using 2GB, my bill will be $1060 for the month! nice.

Sorry for spreading my rant to another thread, but I didn't want this thread out there lauding Aliant's crappy service without the full story.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 09:56 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Congrats Babs!

Since we were on this topic I did a speed test. I got about 5100 kb/s down. Then I ran the TCP optimizer and tested again. I got 26,000 kb/s down O.O I am only paying for 10,000 kb/s... how is this possible? Not that I am complaining. And still only 479 kb/s up though :\
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Speed PC Tech Station Review Discussion Thread Misoprostol Cases 10 July 8, 2007 01:45 PM
Yet Another New Build...HOORAY Long John Silver CPU's and Motherboards 29 June 28, 2007 02:44 AM
Shaw high speed cable reliability Shadowed Off Topic 18 April 10, 2007 01:32 PM
Forget High-Speed RAM- go for low latency and a 6xxi Babrbarossa RAM 9 March 31, 2007 04:12 PM