Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 11:01 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a link to the product? I tried googling but just got a zillion false hits.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 11:20 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Congrats man! Have fun browsing!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 11:22 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I have the shaw nitro package. 25mbs! I can download a 16gb file in 40 minutes. divx movies take about 3.

~hugs his modem~
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 11:25 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

WHAT?? What does that cost man? Rogers only offers 18Mbps/1Mbps but for $ 103 per month!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 11:27 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default thast good stuff

Im glad they have some decent options for more remote areas now. Dialup is painful to use.
My DSL Aliant deal in NS, which is not as fast, is $44 per month so thats not too shabby.

Although Im sure there are cheaper options. Can you do the whole internet phone thing with that too?
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 04:02 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Thanks guys- Bell/aliant sells them-
Really? might they have any decent coverage outside the town of Creston here in BC?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
It's great- now it won't take me a half hour to visit web sites (my dialup only ran at 26.6KBPS)- I can actually post some news stories without it taking me hours, literally.
That is nothing, before I had a 56k modem or a 802.11G card for my PowerBook I was using an external serial SupraExpress 144 Plus if I took my PowerBook anywhere out of the computer room. I actually used it fairly frequently as I liked to take my PowerBook to my bedroom, living room and kitchen with me. But yea, then I got an internal 56k modem for it's dedi modem slot and later an 802.11G PCCard for one of it's two CardBus slots. Now I only use my 14.4 serial modems(that is right, I have multiple) with my 1986-1995 hardware without ethernet or I use them with one of my other Macs acting as a LocalTalk to Ethernet gateway to get them on the network with an internet connection. :P

Last edited by MacJunky; November 24, 2007 at 04:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 04:39 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

This is the link for we new brunswickers, but it gives you an idea of the products- they have an express card for laptops or USB cards for desktops- they're essentially mobile phones without buttons and speakers. As you can see the data rates are pricey unless you do the 3 year contract and get unlimited data for 75/month- the maddening thing is that they're still charging me 2 dollars for a 911 fee.
Aliant For Business - Internet & E-mail

They also have coverage maps on the site somewhere- so if you're in Bell territory, they probably have coverage maps for you too, but it works anywhere there is cellular coverage- it'as just a little faster where there is ev-do coverage.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 05:21 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
WHAT?? What does that cost man? Rogers only offers 18Mbps/1Mbps but for $ 103 per month!
$93 by itself, but I have the HD digital cable package too. $156 a month for my cable bill lol.


Details
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 07:00 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,904
Default

Here in mtl 25/1 is available for 44bucks.. 50mbps are available also but hell i don't need that speed.
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 07:05 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
50mbps are available
~drools~
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Speed PC Tech Station Review Discussion Thread Misoprostol Cases 10 July 8, 2007 01:45 PM
Yet Another New Build...HOORAY Long John Silver CPU's and Motherboards 29 June 28, 2007 02:44 AM
Shaw high speed cable reliability Shadowed Off Topic 18 April 10, 2007 01:32 PM
Forget High-Speed RAM- go for low latency and a 6xxi Babrbarossa RAM 9 March 31, 2007 04:12 PM