Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 10:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hughenden Alberta
Posts: 73
Default Wireless network connectivity issue

This problem started about a month ago and I'm just now finding time to fixing it.

So one morning after we had a power outage on the farm my parents ask me if the network was working (it was) and if I can come take a look at their computer. The chipset cooler had fan issues on the computer (not surprising, the motherboard is old and it is Asus with known chipset cooler problems) but with the work they do I don't think that chipset should never heat up so I turn off the warning indicator as the fan does spool up after a minute, it was running too slow at boot though. However I notice that the network adapter is no longer connecting and after some experimentation I find that the card will only "find" the network if we go online via dial-up, but at that point it does actively talk to the network, requests password and connect but as soon as the dial-up connection is broken so is the wireless connection. I should mention that in the mean time the chipset cooler has been replaced and the wireless card has been swapped out to see if that would make a difference.

Has anyone any suggestions? I keep thinking that it's likely a software issue but it could be a motherboard problem. I have considered putting the boot disk into one of the computers in my house and seeing if it will work right, but I've been too lazy up until this point.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 02:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Boot disk such as a Linux live CD is an excellent idea, another couple of quick/WAG fixes would be reseting the TCP/IP stack:

How to reset Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)

And/or run some of the LSP/Winsock repair tools that are available, e.g.,:

LSP-Fix - a free program to repair damaged Winsock 2 stacks

Anything logged on the eventviewer (My computer > right click > manage) by chance?
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2010, 07:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philippines
Posts: 11
Default

Same Answer as above.

type "ping loopback" on the Command Prompt or terminal to check if the adapter is still in good shape as well,.,.
__________________

Bryan M. Adviento
Senior Product Support Specialist
Supportrix / Gearhead
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2010, 07:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

First thing is to go into internet options/connections and ensure that dial-up isn't set to your primary (I suggest actually selecting "never connect via dial-up for testing purposes). Those settings will often default to dial-up if it can't find a connection, and then doesn't revert back.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Wireless Network Setup Supergrover Guides & How-to's 13 December 24, 2013 01:00 AM
Odd network issue Agafaba Troubleshooting 17 March 22, 2010 11:00 AM
see wireless network but not connect CTA Troubleshooting 7 September 8, 2009 11:26 AM
Help setting up wireless network CasheKicker Networking 7 March 1, 2009 04:16 PM
Setting a wireless network matsta31 Networking 13 November 2, 2008 01:58 PM