Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 03:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default help me go to setting page of my router

help me go to setting page of my router plz.

i have Buffalo AirStation WYR-G54


i dont have mnaual. forgot what to type to go to setting page
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 03:28 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Type 192.168.11.1 into browser address bar.

Here is a link to the manual I found using Google:
http://www.buffalotech.com/files/dow...anual%20v4.pdf

For version 4. If you have an earlier version might be different.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 05:08 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,928

My System Specs

Default

Also if you open up command prompt and type ipconfig and hit enter, you'll see your default gateway. Enter that number into your browser and it'll get you to the router setup page.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 09:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

oh ok thank you thank you and i just tried ipconfig click it and nothing happend. nothing bring up....

ill just go ahead and type the that thing for setup. but wonder why when i click ipconfig and nothing happend.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 12:21 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Type 192.168.11.1 into browser address bar.

Here is a link to the manual I found using Google:
http://www.buffalotech.com/files/dow...anual%20v4.pdf

For version 4. If you have an earlier version might be different.
hey i tried that number and it work. it took me to setting. now i want to ask if this is normal.....

wireless channel = 11

wireless restriction:
- wireless radio enabled
- access to lan allow all wireless client
- access to wan allow all wireless client

wireless security:
- encryption type = disabled



is that normal? it looks weird to me cause i remember few years ago i set the the "wireless radio" to disabled.

is the "wireless radio" is the one where i allow/block neighbors laptop to access my internet?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 09:26 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hohohee View Post
oh ok thank you thank you and i just tried ipconfig click it and nothing happend. nothing bring up....

ill just go ahead and type the that thing for setup. but wonder why when i click ipconfig and nothing happend.....
If you just run ipconfig from the run menu it won't stay up on the screen.

type cmd in the run box
type ipconfig /all
enter in the gateway in a web browser
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 10:07 AM
steers's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Waterloo, ON
Posts: 297

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hohohee View Post
hey i tried that number and it work. it took me to setting. now i want to ask if this is normal.....

wireless channel = 11

wireless restriction:
- wireless radio enabled
- access to lan allow all wireless client
- access to wan allow all wireless client

wireless security:
- encryption type = disabled



is that normal? it looks weird to me cause i remember few years ago i set the the "wireless radio" to disabled.

is the "wireless radio" is the one where i allow/block neighbors laptop to access my internet?
The wireless radio setting just controls whether the router actually broadcasts a signal. In order to control access to the network, you need to enable wireless security. If you're connected to the router over ethernet (not wirelessly), you should try securing your connection using WPA (or WPA2). This will make it so that a password is required to connect to your router and access your connection.
__________________
Balthasar - Loop: EK Multi 150 > MCP655 w/X-Top2 > Feser X-Changer 360 w/3x Panaflo 68cfm (push) > Heatkiller 3.0 > EK-FC275 > EK-FB Classified
Caspar - 2x Xeon E5504 | SuperMicro X8DAi | 12GB DDR3 | Radeon HD4850 | CM ATCS840
Melchior - Rev. A MacBook Pro | 2.0GHz Core Duo | 2GB DDR2 | Radeon X1600

---
Bob - Core i3 530 | Gigabyte H55N-USB3 | 4GB DDR3 | Corsair H50 w/ TFC Triebwerk | Silverstone SG06
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 05:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steers View Post
The wireless radio setting just controls whether the router actually broadcasts a signal. In order to control access to the network, you need to enable wireless security. If you're connected to the router over ethernet (not wirelessly), you should try securing your connection using WPA (or WPA2). This will make it so that a password is required to connect to your router and access your connection.

the option there is only wep and tkip for security. theres no wpa. so.... which i choose?

after i select tkip underneath says wpa psk key

after i appy for changes.... it took forever to tranfer. on bottom of page still say transferring. is it effect? it just like that?

Last edited by hohohee; June 3, 2010 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 12:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

With WPA TKIP make sure you use a long (14 characters+) non-dictionary passphrase consisting at least 3 of the 4 character groups (alpha(U/l), numbers and symbols). Write it down on a piece of paper and stick it on to the router/AP.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 02:36 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

I am curious , are you going to be using wireless internet? if not and there is an option to turn off the wireless then do so.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amount of posts per page geokilla Suggestions & Feedback 7 January 3, 2011 09:36 AM
home page N.V.M. Suggestions & Feedback 4 May 27, 2010 02:59 PM
HWCs F@H stats page? badatcards HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 May 18, 2010 04:27 PM
To page file or not to page file gingerbee O/S's, Drivers & General Software 22 November 11, 2009 09:32 PM
The 'Sayings' Page!! Soultribunal Off Topic 51 March 15, 2009 09:45 PM