Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 12:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default Resetting Win7 to XP folder sharing settings?

Scratching my head over this one... I'm sharing FAH folders on both a Win7 64bit and an XP Home(sp3) machine with another XP Home(sp3) rig in order to have all of my clients available for a single instance of HFM.

Here's the kicker... everything was working fine, but for some reason the windows 7 machine stopped sharing one of two folders (one's the GPU client, the other's the SMP2 client). It shows up under workgroup, but whenever I try to access it, it won't allow me in (error about not having access, contact your administrator). It had been initially working, and then just stopped (this is the SMP client files under programs X86). The gpu client folder on the other hand is working fine.

I've tried rebooting both PCs, tried turning file sharing off and then back on for the Win7 machine (used to work for XP folders which had lost connection) and all file sharing properties are the same between the two folders.

Any ideas?

edit: Maybe it's time to start setting up static ips in the router? Would that make my connections more stable and less likely to drop off? (Used to happen fairly often with XP networked machines....).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; May 8, 2010 at 01:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 01:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

Heh..... No ideas at all???? ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 03:15 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

I was about to say geez you think you could wait more than 15 minutes, then I noticed the am pm thing.


Hmm, that is strange, and you are certain that all the settings for each folder are exactly the same? Nothing over looked? Double check under properties - sharing tab - advanced sharing. Make sure the permissions are all correct.

That said I know I have my machines set with static IP's and then only time it doesn't work right is if a machine goes down.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 04:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

I'll have a second (well... fourth or fifth actually... ;) ) look at the settings, but I'm pretty sure they're all the same. I'm wondering if it's got something to do with the extra layer the SMP uses (that install when you first put it on your system).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 04:46 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Having your SMP in the program files directory might be causing an issue, have you checked that win defender is not blocking it...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 07:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Is UAC enabled? Does the Everyone group have Full Control permissions in that folder?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 09:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

I disabled UAC once I started having problems with no luck. I'll disable defender when I get home from work. (firewall is already off).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 09:56 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Also check under this: Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced sharing settings

Make sure Password protected sharing is off. And maybe lower the encryption as well. I'd use the same settings for Home and Public, unless your network location is always set to Home. I know mine never is because the VMWare virtual adapters are stuck on Public.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2010, 11:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

still not having any luck with this at all. Driving me freaking batty.... I'm also thinking that I might have buggered up my smp2 install by changing ownership from admin to my user (still full admin rights). I even tried to put the folder into the library so that I could make it a public folder, but then got the message that I wasn't allowed to share system files. I'm sure it's got something to do with the fact that the data is stored under programs X86, but the bloody thing worked for the first day or two, and then stopped working.... wonder if a security update closed a possible exploit by closing down sharing from those folders.......

I've tried everything that's been suggested here, and have tried to find any kind of info via google, but as yet haven't been able to find a solution.... is there a way to "sync" the information in one folder with another one on the same machine so that I can sync it into a folder that I can access?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 12:22 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

Is it possibly a setting on my XP machines that I need to change? Neither one of them can access any shared folders other than the public ones. I even went so far as to turn off the "let windows manage my homegroup settings" to see if that was the issue... haven't quite found where to turn the homegroup off altogether.....


edit: Hrmmmmm..... from the smp setup guide....

Quote:
First, create a new FAH folder, such as C:\Users\[username]\FAH Please do NOT install in C:\Program Files\FAH to avoid issues with permissions, especially under Windows Vista. Vista has new security restrictions on running programs from the Program Files folder that previous versions of Windows did not have.
Pain in the arse as I'll have to uninstall it (will have to doublecheck how to get rid of that front-end... seems to me it was more than just re-installing..........) and re-install in a self defined non-program files folder, but I guess that'll resolve the issue as I can get to non program files folders from my XP machines.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; May 10, 2010 at 01:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help resetting internet access. ihaveproblems Networking 3 April 11, 2010 09:52 PM
CCC graphics options keep resetting BrianHanna Troubleshooting 2 March 22, 2010 03:55 PM
Folder down redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 October 2, 2009 12:35 PM
Win7 Programs Folder Moved! 3 of 7 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 June 5, 2009 10:47 PM
uknown folder maurier O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 June 5, 2008 08:33 AM