Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 07:34 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default Am I miss-understanding DMZ?

If I DMZ an IP on my router, shouldn't all traffic on all ports be able to go to that machine? I had a problem on the weeked where we couldn't play RvS. My router had been correctly setup with all the proper port forwarding, but when I re-installed the OS I got a new IP and I didn't want to change all the port forwarding over to the new IP as I know it would revert eventually when the lease expired. I figured I could use DMZ but it would not connect. I eventually got my old IP back by switching to the correct LAN port at which point the port forwarding worked. But really, shouldn't have DMZing that IP worked?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 07:48 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

DMZ is wide open yes, but the outside world only sees 1 ip address for every computer on your network. Port forwarding is not only for unblocking those ports but for directing traffic on those ports to a specific machine.

Why don't you just set a static ip on that computer?

Edit to add:
If you left the port forwarding on after moving that computer to the dmz, all traffic on those ports would have been directed to the computer that took over that address.

Last edited by Squeetard; April 19, 2010 at 07:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 08:29 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

You said your recently reinstalled your OS. Have you made sure that the ports/game is forwarded there too. I don't like windows firewall, as it can be temperamental an cause problems like you are having so i typically disable it and if i need a firewall i use the router.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 08:34 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Edit to add:
If you left the port forwarding on after moving that computer to the dmz, all traffic on those ports would have been directed to the computer that took over that address.
That would explain it.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I miss my PC :( Mike_E Off Topic 15 October 1, 2009 08:10 AM
Q: Understanding RAM Burkdaddy RAM 2 August 19, 2009 02:40 PM
Need some help understanding the features on newer video cards. Pelt Video Cards 6 June 5, 2009 11:56 AM
Techarp's Understanding and Mastering Water Cooling Revision 1.1 Babrbarossa Water Cooling 7 March 13, 2007 09:38 AM