Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 08:56 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,172

My System Specs

Default How to Remote into Windows 95?

So I have an old machine, Pentium 233Mhz 32Mb Ram, that is running Windows 95. I want to use this machine as a platform for some good old school gaming.

Now what I would like to do is be able to remote into it so I can leave it downstairs in the basement along with the server. Now I have set up UltraVNC, and I can connect to it but nothing refreshes and the mouse movements are not accurate. I have also installed a remote desktop client but of course that will only allow me to connect to other machines not to it.

Whether it is with remote desktop or vnc I really don't care, I just want to be able to connect to my win95 machine and play some old school games without having to drag it upstairs and hook it up to a monitor.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 09:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Try LogMeIn perhaps? Though I believe Win95 is from before Windows even supported remote desktop, so I doubt you'll find anything that works. If VNC doesn't do the trick, it's unlikely that anything else will.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 10:21 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,236

My System Specs

Default 95 is DOS

Win 95 is facy shell over DOS . I think it is actualy writtenin in DOS. Try a BELKIN KVM that is compatable to WIN 7.
Better IDea. One of these to your server shopRBC.com :: Belkin 10' SOHO PS/2 and USB KVM Replacement Cable w/Audio

And remote contol your server from your comp
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 10:33 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,172

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Try LogMeIn perhaps? Though I believe Win95 is from before Windows even supported remote desktop, so I doubt you'll find anything that works. If VNC doesn't do the trick, it's unlikely that anything else will.

I thought about LogMeIn, but that will go outside of my network and therefore reduce the performance. Ideally I would like it to be something internal so that it can run at what the card supports which is 100MB (I believe, hmm maybe I should check to make sure)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
Win 95 is facy shell over DOS . I think it is actualy writtenin in DOS. Try a BELKIN KVM that is compatable to WIN 7.
Better IDea. One of these to your server shopRBC.com :: Belkin 10' SOHO PS/2 and USB KVM Replacement Cable w/Audio

And remote contol your server from your comp
I have thought about doing a network KVM as well but I don't know if there are any that would work with that machine. Plus they can be very expensive.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 10:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Another suggestion: why don't you just make a Win95 VM on one of your more recent PCs and run your old games in that? You could also use DOSBox.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 10:47 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,236

My System Specs

Default KVN to server

Cheep KVM to server and remote controll the server from your comp, ( witch remotes contols Through KVM to 95 comp)( 95 Slaved to server)

Maybe I don't understand KVM
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 10:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,269

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Another suggestion: why don't you just make a Win95 VM on one of your more recent PCs and run your old games in that? You could also use DOSBox.
Win95 had a hard enough time connecting to a network under normal circumstances, let alone allowing a remote connection.... wasn't until `98 that they started to get the networking right.
__________________
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:14 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,172

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Another suggestion: why don't you just make a Win95 VM on one of your more recent PCs and run your old games in that? You could also use DOSBox.
Yea, I have thought about that as well. I think I was just wanting a good old machine as a pure stand alone and yes if it was upstairs here I would just use the other kvm I have and do it that way. As for dosbox, yes it can do a pretty good job (I have used it plenty) but it is some of the older windows based games that it can't do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Win95 had a hard enough time connecting to a network under normal circumstances, let alone allowing a remote connection.... wasn't until `98 that they started to get the networking right.
Believe it or not that windows 95 box detected all of my other machines without an issue. That alone was a huge feat.

Oh and get this VNC started working?!!? How or why I do not know. But that hasn't solved it as it will not let the dos programs display properly. Well back to the drawing board.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Win95 had a hard enough time connecting to a network under normal circumstances, let alone allowing a remote connection.... wasn't until `98 that they started to get the networking right.
I don't see why a retro gaming machine/VM/DOSBox would need a network connection in the first place. Any games from that era that did actually have an online component are long dead.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:47 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,797

My System Specs

Default

I'd either install windows 98 onto that computer since i know for a fact it should be able to support it or do Zach's idea and just run a win 95 image in vmware on your main computer and save yourself all the hassle.
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best universal remote? aristhrottle Off Topic 14 October 27, 2009 01:45 PM
Remote Monitoring Arinoth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 August 10, 2009 07:49 PM
Windows 7 Remote Desktop muse108dc Networking 2 May 14, 2009 07:23 PM
[WTB] Windows XP Media Center Remote! Scotch Tape Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 2, 2008 08:11 PM
remote desktop CTA Networking 13 November 20, 2008 02:40 PM