Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 09:56 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default How to Remote into Windows 95?

So I have an old machine, Pentium 233Mhz 32Mb Ram, that is running Windows 95. I want to use this machine as a platform for some good old school gaming.

Now what I would like to do is be able to remote into it so I can leave it downstairs in the basement along with the server. Now I have set up UltraVNC, and I can connect to it but nothing refreshes and the mouse movements are not accurate. I have also installed a remote desktop client but of course that will only allow me to connect to other machines not to it.

Whether it is with remote desktop or vnc I really don't care, I just want to be able to connect to my win95 machine and play some old school games without having to drag it upstairs and hook it up to a monitor.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 10:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Try LogMeIn perhaps? Though I believe Win95 is from before Windows even supported remote desktop, so I doubt you'll find anything that works. If VNC doesn't do the trick, it's unlikely that anything else will.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:21 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,142

My System Specs

Default 95 is DOS

Win 95 is facy shell over DOS . I think it is actualy writtenin in DOS. Try a BELKIN KVM that is compatable to WIN 7.
Better IDea. One of these to your server shopRBC.com :: Belkin 10' SOHO PS/2 and USB KVM Replacement Cable w/Audio

And remote contol your server from your comp
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:33 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Try LogMeIn perhaps? Though I believe Win95 is from before Windows even supported remote desktop, so I doubt you'll find anything that works. If VNC doesn't do the trick, it's unlikely that anything else will.

I thought about LogMeIn, but that will go outside of my network and therefore reduce the performance. Ideally I would like it to be something internal so that it can run at what the card supports which is 100MB (I believe, hmm maybe I should check to make sure)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
Win 95 is facy shell over DOS . I think it is actualy writtenin in DOS. Try a BELKIN KVM that is compatable to WIN 7.
Better IDea. One of these to your server shopRBC.com :: Belkin 10' SOHO PS/2 and USB KVM Replacement Cable w/Audio

And remote contol your server from your comp
I have thought about doing a network KVM as well but I don't know if there are any that would work with that machine. Plus they can be very expensive.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Another suggestion: why don't you just make a Win95 VM on one of your more recent PCs and run your old games in that? You could also use DOSBox.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:47 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,142

My System Specs

Default KVN to server

Cheep KVM to server and remote controll the server from your comp, ( witch remotes contols Through KVM to 95 comp)( 95 Slaved to server)

Maybe I don't understand KVM
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2010, 11:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Another suggestion: why don't you just make a Win95 VM on one of your more recent PCs and run your old games in that? You could also use DOSBox.
Win95 had a hard enough time connecting to a network under normal circumstances, let alone allowing a remote connection.... wasn't until `98 that they started to get the networking right.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:14 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Another suggestion: why don't you just make a Win95 VM on one of your more recent PCs and run your old games in that? You could also use DOSBox.
Yea, I have thought about that as well. I think I was just wanting a good old machine as a pure stand alone and yes if it was upstairs here I would just use the other kvm I have and do it that way. As for dosbox, yes it can do a pretty good job (I have used it plenty) but it is some of the older windows based games that it can't do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Win95 had a hard enough time connecting to a network under normal circumstances, let alone allowing a remote connection.... wasn't until `98 that they started to get the networking right.
Believe it or not that windows 95 box detected all of my other machines without an issue. That alone was a huge feat.

Oh and get this VNC started working?!!? How or why I do not know. But that hasn't solved it as it will not let the dos programs display properly. Well back to the drawing board.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:44 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Win95 had a hard enough time connecting to a network under normal circumstances, let alone allowing a remote connection.... wasn't until `98 that they started to get the networking right.
I don't see why a retro gaming machine/VM/DOSBox would need a network connection in the first place. Any games from that era that did actually have an online component are long dead.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:47 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

I'd either install windows 98 onto that computer since i know for a fact it should be able to support it or do Zach's idea and just run a win 95 image in vmware on your main computer and save yourself all the hassle.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best universal remote? aristhrottle Off Topic 14 October 27, 2009 02:45 PM
Remote Monitoring Arinoth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 August 10, 2009 08:49 PM
Windows 7 Remote Desktop muse108dc Networking 2 May 14, 2009 08:23 PM
[WTB] Windows XP Media Center Remote! Scotch Tape Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 2, 2008 08:11 PM
remote desktop CTA Networking 13 November 20, 2008 02:40 PM