Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 07:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default What do I need to do this?

My desktop is connected to my laptop using an ethernet cable, to share the wireless connection I recieve on my laptop. Now I want to connect my 360 to my laptop so I can get some LIVE going too, but theres only one Ethernet port and it's connected to my PC. is there some sort of ethernet "hub" I can use to have both connected to my laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 07:20 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,693

My System Specs

Default

you could add a second lan card to your PC and bridge to that.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 07:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default

wwould that be the cheapest solution?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 07:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,693

My System Specs

Default

I'd imagine you should be able to pick up a network card new for under $10, or even better, find a used one on kijiji.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2010, 07:00 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,937

My System Specs

Default

Could also buy a switch, then your desktop won't need to be on to play XBOX, only your laptop.

Alternatively, you could get the wireless adapter for XBOX360 too and connect directly to the WiFi instead.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2010, 10:39 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Could also buy a switch, then your desktop won't need to be on to play XBOX, only your laptop.

Alternatively, you could get the wireless adapter for XBOX360 too and connect directly to the WiFi instead.
Agreed. Probably the cheapest and simplest solution. Don't bother getting a gigabit switch though, because your internet surely doesn't exceed 100mb (hell, probably not even 10mb)...

Getting a wifi adapter for the XBOX would be the simpler solution, but surely the most expensive.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2010, 04:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default

^ethernet switch it is then.

this should be good enough right?

Dynex 8-Port 10/100 Ethernet Switch (DX-ESW8) - Future Shop
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2010, 05:00 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,119

My System Specs

Default

That should work just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes