Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 12:59 AM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default TekSavvy Modems

I'm making a switch from cogeco to TekSavvy. I live with my sister and she has a package plan with Cogeco, which includes hdtv, phone and internet. I'm always going over the bandwidth usage and don't feel like shelling out and extra $50 for over usage ontop of the rent I pay here. So i've decided to get my own internet.

Anyways, for those of you that are with TekSavvy, what modem would you recommend that is reliable, fast and futureproof? Is it worth getting a modem they supply, or buying your own? I heard mixed feelings about their all in one (modem/router/wifi) SpeedTouch 585 modems. Some people have said just to get their Speedtouch 516 modem and buy your own router with wifi.

I've never had to actually buy a DLS modem, so that is why I am asking for help. I don't know what would be the best DSL modem to get that would be hassle free and reliable ontop of getting the best speeds.

I know I would need a router as I do online banking, and the router would have to have wifi since my g/f has a wifi laptop.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 04:57 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Thomson TN516 Speedtouch ADSL 2/2+ Modem / Router External - DirectCanada

The Thomson/Gentek brand of modem is what you want. You can get variuos models , some with wifi capability. Google around, there was a dealer somewhere in Ontario that had very good prices. The base model modem I linked to works well.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 09:26 PM
Stix26's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Default

I'm on day 1 service from TekSavvy today!

I'm on the unlimited bandwidth plan which is extremely refreshing after being forced into a 60GB cap with Bell.

As for the modem, I've got the Speedtouch 516 (the one posted above) and paid virtually the same price.
__________________
ThinkPad Owner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 10:04 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,892

My System Specs

Default

TP-Link 8616 works great too and it's like $20.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:18 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

The Thompson 516 is a VERY solid modem. I haven't had a single issue with mine since day 1. I'm not even sure if i have ever had to restart it..... But yea, it's got a ton of built in features and it's rock solid. No need to look anywhere else.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 05:54 AM
BigDogg's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener/Waterloo
Posts: 187

My System Specs

Default

I use the TP-Link TD 8816 $26.99 works great get full speed and no issues. Actually don't think the modem has even needed a reboot since I got it.

Canada Computers - TP-LINK TD-8816, ADSL2/2+ Ethernet Router
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 07:25 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,892

My System Specs

Default

I had the ST516 but mine started to act flaky. They also run rather hot too. Replaced it with the TP-Link 8616 (I hate having a modem with router/firewall and crap as I have my own router), and all has been perfect since.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 02:19 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

Is the Thompson 516 the same one you can buy from TekSavvy?
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 02:53 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no_pulse View Post
Is the Thompson 516 the same one you can buy from TekSavvy?
yes it is
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 07:29 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

Thanks for the help everyone :) I'm just going to get the basic modem and add a router when I decide to :) Unfortunately I had to get the dry loop DSL because my sister is on Cogeco's digital phone line service. I'm a bit worried as I have read a few posts on DSLreports.com with people going back and forth with TekSavvy and Bell because of the dry loop. I have a feeling it won't be a simple hookup, and that TekSavvy will require me to hire a third party to install a new jack or reconfigure the jack.
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2700 DSL modems priced to sell! (GNet BB0060B) Cheator Buy/Sell & Trade 24 October 29, 2010 10:05 AM
Teksavvy+mlppp lcdguy Networking 21 February 15, 2010 09:44 PM
Teksavvy encorp Networking 14 February 5, 2009 09:19 AM
efficiency and Performance of modems chibi_man Networking 1 December 13, 2007 09:42 AM