Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 07:07 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default Cooked Router? just fried?

Linksys WRT56G.
I guess the power flickered at my girlfriends house and then the internet wouldn't work. Router does nothing, just sits there with all 4 ethernet lights and internet light on, regardless of any combination of connection. Tried all the obvious stuff, reset, etc..
Connecting through the cable modem directly works, so its not the ISP or the modem. The router produces no signal of any kind that I can tell. Seems dead to me, though my knowledge of networking anything is in the toilet. Can't do a lot of research since I'll just say the connection I am now on is bad.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 07:14 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,961

My System Specs

Default

Teksavvy /click on high speed/ Tomato/ 2 modems (say no more )
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 08:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 29
Default

it is ded and you need a new one. I recmend this one NCIX.com - Buy Netgear Rangemax WNDR3300-100NAS 802 11G/N Dual Band Wireless ROUTERW/ QoS - WNDR3300-100NAS In Canada. and get
Surge Protection for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 12:46 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

It probably got bricked... try holding the reset button located on the back of the router for 30 seconds or longer while on....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 10:53 AM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

No dice with that. Bricked.
Time to shop. Thanks.. team.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 02:18 PM
M1K3Z0R's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London/Brantford ON
Posts: 48

My System Specs

Default

Just my 2 cents - Dlink DIR-655 has been VERY solid for me and everyone who I've recommended it to. If you are not into Wireless N, the WRT54GL is a good solid classic when combined with Tomato or DD-WRT. I'm sure there are many decent routers but I've been seeing alot of craptastic ones lately, mainly from linksys (stock firmware anyway)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 07:44 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Yes, my experiences with Linksys have been similar. How's ASUS? It's not my purchase call, and I'm sure her mom will want affordability, which brings us to this:
Newegg.ca - ASUS WL-520gC IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g 125 HSM Wireless Router / DD-WRT Open Source support - Wireless Routers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 02:42 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M1K3Z0R View Post
Just my 2 cents - Dlink DIR-655 has been VERY solid for me and everyone who I've recommended it to. If you are not into Wireless N, the WRT54GL is a good solid classic when combined with Tomato or DD-WRT. I'm sure there are many decent routers but I've been seeing alot of craptastic ones lately, mainly from linksys (stock firmware anyway)
You don't have that Dlink DIR-655 using MLPPP do you? I'm moving into a new house and getting teksavvy set up, and would love to keep my Dlink - but want to use MLPPP. Will I have to end up getting the WRT54GL and updating the firmware?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fried GPU? Ataxin Troubleshooting 9 November 16, 2009 12:04 PM
Fried HD 4850? Ataxin Video Cards 0 November 13, 2009 11:05 PM
Fried Mobo? UberMoo Troubleshooting 6 September 20, 2009 01:36 PM
How to test if MB is fried? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 5 August 19, 2009 10:39 AM
Is my external HD fried? automatic Troubleshooting 6 July 21, 2009 11:49 AM