Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 11:33 AM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 254

My System Specs

Default Cogeco Internet

I guess this is the right forum, if not someone can move it.
This week I downgraded my cable internet from standard (60 gig/month,15 mbs ) to a LitePlus plan (35g,7mbs). According to Speedtest my upload has decreased abit but the strange thing is download speeds have almost doubled.
I"m not sure whether to call Cogeco and see what"s going on or not. Have I been getting ripped for the last 5 years with Standard or did they screwup the downgrade and actually upgraded me a notch.
What To Do???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 12:21 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Well what speed are you getting?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 12:25 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 254

My System Specs

Default

Right now 7-7.5 mbs...I should call!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 12:29 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default nope

might give you somthing .
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 01:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

..so you were getting 3.5 down speed on a connection you were supposed to be getting 15 on?

why didn't you complain then? O.o
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 02:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

If your download speed has doubled from 15mbs to 30mbs, I wouldn't say anything until you get your next bill. If you're getting more download speed for a lower price, you win! If they bill you for it, it's their mistake, not yours. I have a similar situation going on with rogers right now. Let's just say I'm getting more than what I'm paying for
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 09:51 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 254

My System Specs

Default


I called and they said yes i was on Standard plan but "They have been working on the lines to improve the bandwidth".. so I get better speeds the exact same time that I decide to downgrade...
I don"t think I believe that!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 10:58 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

I have Cogeco and have the 15mbps internet and routinely I get slightly over my max speed. Cogeco has been great for me, you must have had other issues or they were screwing you. I find it hard to believe they WERE screwing you, especially on purpose though.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think cogeco is stealing my internet :( shockthebox Networking 16 February 20, 2010 12:33 PM
Going over the Cogeco cap? Jonwall Networking 0 January 23, 2010 07:47 AM
Cogeco increasing speeds? Jonwall Networking 10 August 4, 2009 10:10 AM
Seems Cogeco has hopped on the bandwagon no_pulse Off Topic 15 April 27, 2009 04:07 PM
Rogers or Cogeco for Torrents? Cheator Networking 14 October 10, 2008 08:51 AM