Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 08:23 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,942

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If it ends up being something illegal, you'll be the one who gets the visit in the middle of the night from the men in black, and it's your PC they'll confiscate looking for evidence. Bad enough if it's something copyright related, really bad if it's something like kiddy porn and/or terrorist related.
Never heard of that happening in Canada though ;)

And well if you have a pedophile or terrorist living beside you, there's many other things you should be concerned about

(BTW, insane thread revival! Almost a year ago since the OP)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 08:31 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

there was a guy that they caught driving around Toronto with his wireless laptop downloading kiddie porn on others networks/ip address's so it does happen. just put a password and be done with it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:30 PM
IRS IRS is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Ok Im back with one more laptop/wireless internet question.

Ok, so we have our own wireless network, and we use three laptops in our house. About a week ago we decided that we needed to put a password on it (people stealing our connection) so we did and the two other laptops work fine, but this one just wont connect (I plugged in another ethernet cable to the router for now). The password works fine for the other two computers, but not for this one. Whenever I try the password, it gives me the following message:

"The network password needs to be 40bits or 140bits depending on your network configuration. This can be entered as 5 to 13 ascii characters or 10 to 26 hexadecimal characters".

So I figured (with some help) that this has to do with the password encryption, and after looking at the advanced setting of all three laptops, the ones that work both support WPA/WPA2 encryption, but this one does not (for whatever reason, only uses WEP).

Now my question is, what should I do? Is it the fault of the laptop, or am I completely off? Do I need to go back to the wireless network and change the encryption to WEP just so this laptop will be able to connect (even though WEP (as I have heard) is not as strong as WPA/WPA2?)

A lot of writing, but any help will be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:51 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 478
Default

WEP has critical flaws that make it trivial to defeat. Its use should be avoided.

WPA requires device, driver and OS support. If you're using Windows XP SP2+ with the latest drivers for your wireless adapter and still lack WPA support, you should obtain a wireless adapter that supports WPA2.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:56 PM
IRS IRS is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

By wireless adaptor, you mean.....? Is that something that can be installed into a laptop, something that can be downloaded? Clarification will be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 01:16 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRS View Post
By wireless adaptor, you mean.....? Is that something that can be installed into a laptop, something that can be downloaded? Clarification will be much appreciated.
I mean a wireless network adapter -- hardware. There are cheap USB adapters available such as: Belkin Wireless N (802.11B/G/N) 150Mbps USB2.0 Adapter for Desktops/Laptops Model F6D4050 - Networking & Modems - Computer Hardware (which I have no personal experience with.)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 01:19 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,732

My System Specs

Default

The wireless hardware, generally in the form of a card of some sort. What one do you have in that machine right now? (look in device manager and get the name it lists)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 02:13 PM
IRS IRS is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Not sure, is it under Network Adaptors? If so, it says two things: Cisco systems PCI Wireless LAN adaptor and Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Mobile Connection. Compared to the laptop I am currently using, which says: Intel(R) Pro/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This case got a 10 in Maximum PC Mag. cdn_Madrach Reviews & Articles from the Web 14 December 16, 2011 11:15 AM
Maximum usage fee Lamb Networking 28 December 3, 2009 01:14 PM
Next Call of Duty to have monthly fee? Polygon Gaming 17 November 13, 2009 11:51 PM
Rogers monthly usage cap LooseCannon Off Topic 42 April 8, 2008 07:41 AM
why does NCIX charge tax on shipping and insurance? Victor5 Off Topic 8 December 6, 2007 11:46 AM