Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2010, 04:10 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

well after the weak reviews i have been reading about bell messing with teksavvy clients i have decide to stay with my 125$ rogers extreme which i think is crazy but me without the web now that's crazy ha ha. the crtc has to go.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2010, 05:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
well after the weak reviews i have been reading about bell messing with teksavvy clients i have decide to stay with my 125$ rogers extreme which i think is crazy but me without the web now that's crazy ha ha. the crtc has to go.
I don't blame you. But, Rogers is a ripoff but at least you get a decent connection no matter where you are (within reason) and my experience has been okay with bandwidth/connection quality. Downloading also works despite throttling (it's a slow dnld but I'm dealing with it). But, if I want 100GB usage, it's wayyyyy expensive!!!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2010, 05:28 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
well after the weak reviews i have been reading about bell messing with teksavvy clients i have decide to stay with my 125$ rogers extreme which i think is crazy but me without the web now that's crazy ha ha. the crtc has to go.
What do you need Extreme for? Do you have any retention discounts applied?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2010, 08:58 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

What speeds should you get with DSL if you're 3-4 kms away from the CO?

Is 1.4 DLD and 0.25 UPD low? Seems low to me. I read on the Acanac of one poster claiming it's an actual profile. That sounds like one of the lowest. If I had 2.5 download speed before at the same location, I should be able to get that speed at least, right? I'm not a happy camper and was hoping I can request this speed or better. If I'm on a remote or have some situation that is subpar, can I ask for a better connection? Bell shouldn't be allowed to do this. I think I should have a better speed.

Imho, this is just Bell's way in trying to get people to cancel subscriptions with 3rd party DSL ISPs.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 06:24 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

here's a rule of thumb chart. 3-4 km generally isn't good, but it can vary alot.
Why is distance important with DSL? DSL FAQ - dslreports.com

I'm pretty lucky, I could throw stones at mine from the backyard, top speed always.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 08:57 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
What do you need Extreme for? Do you have any retention discounts applied?
3 heavy users. and no we don't get any retention discounts at all we where told when we thought about leaving to fff off not kidding then when we got a real answer it was so go a head we don't care they all buy from us or bell. they don't care they all get are money anyways all they do at the end of the year is say they need it and the government gives them are money. crtc has to go.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Switch(es) Query Shftup Storage 7 January 15, 2010 04:23 PM
switch needed Jim Display Units 7 April 1, 2009 02:54 PM
Router + Switch Mr. Gruntsworthy Networking 12 January 6, 2009 10:44 PM
ROuter switch v0maru Networking 2 December 19, 2008 10:44 AM
My Switch Mod kcksteve Networking 0 September 24, 2007 04:25 PM