Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 10:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default Cat5 or wireless for xbox360?

Hi guys I am trying to figure out what would be best connection for my xbox right now. It's between buying a wireless network adaptor for the xbox360 which is roughly $40-$50 (g network) or buying roughly 22 ft. Of cat5 cable which I think is cheaper than the wireless from my experience wired is faster than wireless however I don't know enough to know how much signal loss there will be in 22 ft. Of cat5 cable being run please advise, thanks!
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 10:41 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

It's about 330 feet for maximum length, so I think 22 ft would be fine

I personally hate wireless, so I'd do wired.

Don't get raped on your ethernet cable either, a 25 foot cord should cost you about $10.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 12:34 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Will the Xbox be anywhere near to a fixed PC that's using a wireless connection? If it is, you can do what I did for the young lad and just bridge the ethernet from his PC to his wireless card and hook the Xbox up to that......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 02:38 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

wired. as I have found out recently, things like alot of logitech wireless devices and microwaves will eat wireless signals for a light snack. as for noise over a 22' cat5E (the standard now) will be almost nothing since noise become worrisome at 330', but you can go up to around 500' before the noise interferes enough to get significant errors across it, so you are probably fine.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 05:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Use CAT5e or CAT6. I picked up 25' of CAT6 on Friday for $14. Check canada computers or factory direct.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 08:44 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I am a bigger fan of going with wired then wireless with anything that i use as it is faster, more reliable, and typically cheaper as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 09:43 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

okay great; yeah I've always felt wired is much faster and reliable than wireless. I don't think I'll be using CAT6 though; is there much of a speed difference? if so I may pick up Cat6 for my pc and Cat5 for my xbox lol. unfortunately no I don't have a HTPC yet =P and yeah I know that ~20' should cost me under $20 especially at CC.
Thanks!
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 10:51 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

No speed difference between cat6 and cat5e, both are rated for gigabit ethernet which you probably (maybe, tried to google what the xbox360 has and get conflicting data) aren't even using. Cat6 supports 10gbase-T (so 10x speed of gigabit) but good luck finding stuff that does 10gbase-T speeds, and then if you do, that you could actually afford
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] mckchun's FS/WTB/WTT: HTPC, LCD, xbox360, Accessories mckchun Buy/Sell & Trade 28 January 9, 2010 12:14 AM
XBOX360 - RROD Fix + Fan Upgrade JD Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 6 January 6, 2010 05:50 PM
XBOX360 Thoughts JD Water Cooling 4 February 7, 2009 07:23 PM
Guitar Hero Aerosmith Edition xbox360 (Releases June 29th ) Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 26, 2008 11:01 PM
226bw and xbox360 kem Display Units 4 April 7, 2008 03:03 PM