Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
View Poll Results: Are you running a WEP protected wireless network ?
Yes 10 19.23%
No 42 80.77%
Voters: 52. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2009, 09:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Whitecourt AB.
Posts: 25
Default

My laptop is currently detecting 25 networks of which about 20 are on wep and the rest wpa/wpa2. Not one of them is open.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2009, 10:28 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

WPA2 here with a 15-30 character long(I won't say how long exactly) pass phrase utilizing upper and lower case characters as well as numbers.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 06:27 AM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 355

My System Specs

Default

Of the 10 wi-fi connections in my area only two, mine and one other is WPA-2 rest are WEP.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 11:54 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,950

My System Specs

Default

WPA2-AES only.

And my password is randomly generated from here: Strong Password Generator in Base95 and 30 characters
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 12:34 AM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
WPA2-AES only.

And my password is randomly generated from here: Strong Password Generator in Base95 and 30 characters
thanks for the link! :)
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 01:04 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

i call complete and utter BS on this article. Any wifi router or access point worth it's salt denies a wireless clients mac address for 30 minutes after a certain number of failed security key attempts (or an hour/whatever). If the number of failed attempts is excessive the AP puts the mac address on a permanent shit list. If the cracking program hammers the AP with a ton of synthesized mac addresses, the AP's ARP table will probably melt before accepting the dictionary hacked password.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 09:26 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,529
Default

Hmm......most consumer grade routers must not be "worth thier salt" or are never setup correctly , because during my experiments , I have never had my mac blocked even slightly.

I won't go into how exactly the programs work ( you probably know already) but it does not hammer the AP with synthetic mac addys(unless you make it) .In fact WEP cracking can be almost entirely passive.

WPA or WPA2 is a different story.Since this is essentially a 'dictionary crack' it requires multiple attempts and therfore can trigger blacklisting.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 06:05 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 79
Default

WPA/WPA2-PSK "cracking" (i.e. finding the passphrase which generated the 256-bits PMK) is also a passive attack. All you need is to capture a 4 way handshake (the whole handshake isn't even necessary) between a STA and the AP and you'll then be able to do your offline dictionary attack.

Attack on both WEP and WPA can be done entirely passively.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 07:07 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

I'm using WPA2 but I know even this can be cracked in 20 minutes with the help of a cloud if you captured the handshake:

New Cloud-based Service Steals Wi-Fi Passwords - PC World Business Center
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 09:31 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxman View Post
WPA/WPA2-PSK "cracking" (i.e. finding the passphrase which generated the 256-bits PMK) is also a passive attack. All you need is to capture a 4 way handshake (the whole handshake isn't even necessary) between a STA and the AP and you'll then be able to do your offline dictionary attack.

Attack on both WEP and WPA can be done entirely passively.
Thanks foxman. The crackers i have seen behave exactly how you have described, by capturing the data passively into a dump file to be compared afterward with a dictionary file. The article lead me to believe the software hammers the AP with the dictionary waiting for a correct response.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Wireless Network Setup Supergrover Guides & How-to's 13 December 24, 2013 02:00 AM
see wireless network but not connect CTA Troubleshooting 7 September 8, 2009 12:26 PM
Help setting up wireless network CasheKicker Networking 7 March 1, 2009 05:16 PM
Network card/wireless adapter Inik Networking 5 January 13, 2009 05:31 PM
Setting a wireless network matsta31 Networking 13 November 2, 2008 02:58 PM