Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2009, 04:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 9
Default New Modem

Currently I have a Telus siemens router/modem hooked up to an old D-Link Di-524. Whenever I play games on Xbox Live it tells me I have a strict NAT type and I have trouble connecting to friends' games. I really know nothing about networking. So what can I do to fix this? Also are there any good third-party routers available to replace the siemens one?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2009, 07:24 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

You're running double NAT.

Ditch the Dlink in the middle and things should start to work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 06:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Default

If the router has DMZ support you can set the IP address of the 360 to the DMZ so that all ports are always opened. I do it with my 360 all the time, then there is no way the router can cause problems with ports.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:54 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

That will only work if he fixes the double NAT first.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to access modem settings? SadisticMonkey Networking 3 October 30, 2009 05:45 PM
computer as wi-fi modem troubles nick_black Troubleshooting 10 July 3, 2009 04:22 PM
[WTB] modem/router omgwtf Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 20, 2009 02:48 PM
[WTB] DSL Modem elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 22, 2009 06:25 PM
send fax via modem? phil3_66666 Networking 3 October 1, 2008 06:24 AM