Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 07:08 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,156

My System Specs

Default better wireless security?

I use wireless as my method of connecting to the internet. to prevent people who should not be changing settings from doing so, I have put a complex administrator password in. however my room mate, in an attempt to screw me over used some kind of script to remotely reset the router and set up mac filters to block my computers from the network. does anyone know what these scripts do and how to prevent things like this from occurring again?
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 07:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Most routers have a factory reset button on them (that's more than likely how he got into it). Reset it to factory defaults, set your security, then keep it locked up in your closet so that he can't access it.

Any advice beyond that would be related to hacking and as such would be immediately deleted from the site.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 07:17 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Exactly.... so no special hacking talents

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
.(that's more than likely how he got into it). ..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 07:47 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,156

My System Specs

Default

no, I know that he did not do it since I already know he has no physical access to it. that is one of the first things I learned about network security. physical security is more important than any kind of software you will ever find.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 07:59 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

What kind of router is this? Do you have remote management or similar enabled?

I don't really see how he could reset it to defaults without having the admin password or physical access to the router.

And are you MAC filtering to only allow your PCs? That would be the first step to stopping him IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 08:00 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

So I guess what you have left to do it's ask him ......


Quote:
Originally Posted by bissa View Post
no, I know that he did not do it since I already know he has no physical access to it. that is one of the first things I learned about network security. physical security is more important than any kind of software you will ever find.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 10:40 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 79
Default

MAC filtering isn't a wise choice if your goal is to make your wireless network secure, since MAC address are easily spoofed, at least on Linux-based OS.

If you say that you had set up a non-trivial password (which would make a dictionary/brute force attack unpractical), and that your room mate had no physical access to your router, then I guess your router is either not authenticating you securely (i.e. sending password in cleartext, which could then be intercepted) or there's some kind of security hole in your router administration software that he is aware of.

Anyway. I don't know who should have access to your wireless network, but that shouldn't stop you from making it secure, i.e. using something like WPA2-PSK AES. Of course, if there's a security hole in your router administration software that you can't fix, people for who you gave access to your wireless network will always be able to modifiy your router settings, but then...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 12:53 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,156

My System Specs

Default

the router is a WRT300N so, since it is from a fairly popular company I would also assume that they would have put some effort into having good security in the administration software. and I am aware that mac filters are not safe, however they can take a little while to identify and if you don't have the macs that are on the network, it can be quite hard to spoof.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 02:05 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

You dont have the password saved in firefox/ie do you? That would certainly be a way for him to gain access to it.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 02:07 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 79
Default

Windows is from a fairly popular company, but does this mean it has no security holes ? ;)

More seriously, I also doubt that there are discovered vulnerabilities in the administration software of your WRT300N. Still, I wonder how your room mate "broke into" your router if he had no physical access and if the password you used was strong.

And MAC addresses of network cards connected to a wireless network are readily available since this information is present in every data frame exchanged between a station and an access point (and never encrypted). Basically, as soon as you are connected to your wireless network, this information becomes accessible to anyone listening to wireless traffic.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Security suites. lochsloy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 19, 2009 12:45 PM
Security Flaw in DD-WRT thenewguy001 Networking 0 July 24, 2009 09:42 AM
security camera computer CTA New Builds 52 March 22, 2009 07:23 PM
Selling area security Cheator Suggestions & Feedback 16 April 8, 2008 07:04 AM
Home Security Shadowed Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 23, 2007 01:05 PM