Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 01:05 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Wow, no upper limit on that package. I wouldn't have their service period. Canada used to lead the pack in internet access, now we're one of the worst.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 01:31 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,403
Default

Videotron is a joke. On all of their high-end options there is ZERO maximum charge for overages.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 02:13 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

30 gb per month? That ridiculous for anyone other then grandma checking cooking recipes. Ive been with eastlink for the past 5 years, no cap in the contract, and i was hesitant to switch to teksavvy with 200gb cap!
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 04:09 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,156

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
30 gb per month? That ridiculous for anyone other then grandma checking cooking recipes. Ive been with eastlink for the past 5 years, no cap in the contract, and i was hesitant to switch to teksavvy with 200gb cap!
with regular browsing you may use 2GB top each month, I dont see how 30GB would be bad. assuming you are not downloading a ton of movies or games you will be fine.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 07:16 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Repentigny, QC
Posts: 792

My System Specs

Default

I had busted the cap by 4GBs!

The thing is that Videotron didnt take in account that my mom did pay last month fees so they were added to this month fees...oh well!

We'll be switching over TGV50, since it's the same price, our internet will only be faster with a higher cap, it's just there's no limit for the 'bust' fees, but if I ever bust 100GB's....lol
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 10:21 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

People i dont know about you but if its available pleasse for the love of god switch to Teksavvy these ISP with their ridicolous caps 30gbs?? wats the point of having such a good connection with so little upload and download?

If your just a avid browser of websites theres no need for that speed, If your a gamer well frack me the upload alone from your games willl run you way over 30gbs my Xbox 360 eats up a looot of gbs.

And Bell btw wants that limit of 30 to be taken off the issue is not put on hold as the CRTC is now handling the CBC problem.

God 30gb for both upload and download it scares me.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2009, 06:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

when i just let it run and decided to get all my torrents finished i was $450 in charges over the 95GB bandwidth. Good thing the max overage fee is $25 :P. So it is $35 for the student deal with rogers extreme and an extra $25 for "unlimited bandwidth". I did horrify myself with how much i used though, considering all the roomies do is stream occasionally
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2009, 07:30 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna Again :(
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

30Gb cap jeez... I find it hard to stay under 500GB/month :(

<3 Teksavvy
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 07:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

500GB is what I hit when I don't keep an eye on things. I am in a house with 8 people sharing 95GB though...that's pretty tough
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 08:32 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

My cap with cogeco is 60gb, last month i had something like 450gb of usage. It made me laugh looking at the bill "Overage Fees: 390gb @ $1.50" Thank god for the $30 limit on overages!
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This case got a 10 in Maximum PC Mag. cdn_Madrach Reviews & Articles from the Web 14 December 16, 2011 10:15 AM
Accurate Usage lcdguy Power Supplies 6 October 29, 2009 04:54 PM
Newegg.ca's handling fee Dave510 Off Topic 12 April 18, 2009 07:09 PM
pf usage under windows xp.. omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 4, 2009 11:23 AM
Maximum PC Canadian Content? sswilson Off Topic 11 June 6, 2008 02:50 PM