Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 02:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 64
Default Connecting 2 Computer over Crossover

Hey guys got crossover wire (yellow) laptop (windows 7) connecting to do Desktop (windows 7) I want to share my drive on my laptop (d). I can ping both computers, 10.1.1.1 /. 2(desktop). On the desktop I go to network places and the drive does not show up. I tried \\goldie-pc\d cant find it that way either .

This how i put sharing on my drive for on my laptop
right click d drive, properties share folder select D, permissions ALL: Network discovery all that stuff is on all firewalls are off.

LOST!!HELP !!
Btw i can view my windows xp networked drive on my laptop but not on windows desktop HELP!!!!.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 02:59 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,045

My System Specs

Default

try doing it by IP... \\10.1.1.1\d
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 03:10 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

D is hidden but it is shared, try \\10.1.1.1\D$ it will ask for a username and password.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 03:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,938

My System Specs

Default

Sharing a root drive is a bit more involved than that. You'd be best off just making a folder on the drive and sharing the folder, then it should work without a hitch.

If you insist on sharing the entire drive, look here: How to Share the Root of a Drive Under Vista
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 04:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 64
Default

I remember doing the same things for my xp im sharing a whole drive fine. But i want the drive to shared

---
so i can find the drive but now i can't access it. Don't have the permissions to access the drive even though in properties I have given all the permissions. HELP!

Last edited by Lavitz; November 1, 2009 at 05:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 05:37 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

if you don't have a password on either of the computers that you're sharing between you can run into problems.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 06:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 64
Default

Okay did the $ trick and now its asking me for a password which I don't have ... OMG WHY IS THIS HARD !!!..

so i made a password window7isbs I logged in but same problem no admin rights but when I go check it has everything selected:
Screenshot
[img=http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/2365/everythingk.png]


I am doing something wrong :S but what!

Last edited by Lavitz; November 1, 2009 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 07:50 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

It's the rights of the sytem not the user you show on your link . I thing you go a little bit far at first . do it simple, use the same user name and password in both computer. and try to share a folder first , not the D , if it's work you can work on sharing the D .

Last edited by MarkOne; November 2, 2009 at 04:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 08:45 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,938

My System Specs

Default

You clearly haven't followed the tutorial: How to Share the Root of a Drive Under Vista
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2009, 05:50 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,698

My System Specs

Default

A bit off topic, but can somebody clear this up for me......

Haven't crossover cables become redundant these days? I thought all NIC cards produced for the last 5+ years would automatically switch for a direct PC - PC connection using a standard cable.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble connecting to a bigscreen via analog HD Mysteryous Video Cards 4 October 3, 2009 09:40 AM
connecting 2 networks Phobia Networking 4 March 3, 2009 09:23 PM
Connecting PC to a HDTV. werty316 Display Units 3 April 7, 2008 06:22 PM
Connecting iPod to an empty PC? HBD Troubleshooting 0 January 24, 2008 11:40 PM