Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 10:47 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inate8 View Post
Also JDRom, how are your klipsch's doing? Mine recently developed a buzz and are currently at the "doctors" lol. I'm hoping it's something simple like bad ground, or even a replaceable Mosfet. *crosses fingers*
Mine seemingly always buzz, though sometimes it doesn't. I thought it was power related, so I have a dedicated outlet for my PC but it still does it from time to time. It would consistently do it before though whenever I dimmed my lights since it was the same circuit. It's not noticeable once audio is playing though.

However I did have my whole amp replaced once since it stopped working entirely. No sound at all.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 08:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Well at least I am not alone I guess... lol
Mine were fantastic for all of 3 years, then about a year ago one day I turned them on only get a NASTY buzzing sound and very little volume.
I since went the headphones + HP Amp route since three of us share a computer room now, but I do miss that lovely thump, one day I'll have to change it out.

On topic:
I went with a DD-WRT build for my router. It still seems to get overloaded, just not nearly as easily. I'm slowly playing with the QoS settings and such. My computer seems to be a connection hog.

Last edited by Inate8; September 23, 2009 at 04:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 01:05 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Find the "Administration" tab at the top in DD-WRT

From there go to the "Management" tab.

Scroll down until you find this and make yours look like mine:





I've never had any problems after that. The timeout is important too

EDIT: Since this time I've found that the TCP timeout of 360 works better across a larger sampling of software. UDP timeout shown here is fine, however.

Last edited by Perineum; December 30, 2010 at 07:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 01:08 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Btw, which Klipsch models do you guys have?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 04:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Find the "Administration" tab at the top in DD-WRT

From there go to the "Management" tab.

Scroll down until you find this and make yours look like mine:





I've never had any problems after that. The timeout is important too
Thanks Perenium, I was looking at that I currently have mine at 512, as I was reading a bit and since mine is not an 8mb model(it is only 2mb) that that might hurt it more than help? What are your thoughts on that?

Also, the Klipsch we are talking about are the promedia Ultra 5.1's NCIX.com - Buy Klipsch Promedia Ultra 5.1 Multimedia Speaker System 470W RMS - PROMEDIA5.1 In Canada.

I had the old standard Promedia 5.1's as well... Should have kept them, they were great lol.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 04:57 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inate8 View Post
Thanks Perenium, I was looking at that I currently have mine at 512, as I was reading a bit and since mine is not an 8mb model(it is only 2mb) that that might hurt it more than help? What are your thoughts on that?

Also, the Klipsch we are talking about are the promedia Ultra 5.1's NCIX.com - Buy Klipsch Promedia Ultra 5.1 Multimedia Speaker System 470W RMS - PROMEDIA5.1 In Canada.

I had the old standard Promedia 5.1's as well... Should have kept them, they were great lol.
Your WRT54GSv7 has only 2MB? What? That's not possible. You mean your flash memory is at 2MB right?

Can you post a screenshot status, sys-info page?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 07:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Your WRT54GSv7 has only 2MB? What? That's not possible. You mean your flash memory is at 2MB right?

Can you post a screenshot status, sys-info page?

Good point!
I see I was incorrect, well... not incorrect, just misinformed at the time.
All fixed now. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 12:16 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Ultras, eh? Hrmmm.

I have the original V2.400's here. Still going strong. Had to take them apart to clean the volume control, but that's all.

So I guess you put your connection settings like mine then?

Any troubles now?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 08:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

The V2.400's are great speakers as well... Guh all this talk I really need to open things up and see what's going on, hahah.

My settings are currently base settings, other than password and wifi name/pass. With your settings for the ports/TCP timeout settings. Things are definitely much more smooth, I'm waiting to play with the QoS settings just to see how things measure up without it.

So far so good, thank you all for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 10:03 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I haven't actually played with the QoS service yet....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manually downloading WUs bissa HardwareCanucks F@H Team 10 September 15, 2009 12:30 PM
PC slow down ? Kilauea Troubleshooting 12 September 11, 2009 08:54 AM
Is downloading music from P2P services illegal in Canada? squilliam Off Topic 29 August 8, 2009 07:32 AM
REALLY slow Digikid Suggestions & Feedback 12 March 24, 2009 02:39 PM
Reinstall over due, bittorrent files still downloading Mysteryous O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 7, 2007 02:54 PM