Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:03 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default WRT54GS Dying?

I believe my router is dying or it's something up with the firmware. I'm currently using the BS12638 build.

Before, my router was running perfectly with DD-WRT. Everything would work nice and smoothly even if I was torrenting a lot of files. However for this summer, I've been experiencing problems with the router. IT started off with me losing my connection on Windows Live Messenger while BTing. Now, even when the router's not doing anything and I'm just surfing the web, I fail to send and receive like half of my messages and my browser is loading pages slowly, and sometimes not loading them at all.

I currently have my computer plugged in directly to the modem to see if it was my router or modem that was acting up, and for the past 45 minutes or so, everything's been going well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:09 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

You try running latest proper firmware?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:16 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
You try running latest proper firmware?
You mean the Linksys firmware? Nope. They gave me nothing but problems. DD-WRT is way better.

I should add that I've been using DD-WRT on this router for a few years now. I do upgrade the firmware like every 3 months or so, but lately, every time a new build is out as I'm trying to figure out what's wrong with the router. I posted over at DD-WRT and only one guy is replying to my thread. He says that if it's not a configuration problem, then it's a hardware problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:27 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

I was going to ask about any new phones, microwaves, etc. but those would impact all you data I assume. You seem to be having issues with certain types of traffic (at least at first).

Before tossing out the router I would still try standard firmware.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 06:02 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

It could be a faulty/unreliable build of DD-WRT as well, have you tried to roll back to the last one you know worked before you had any of these issues. Sometimes certain revisions of hardware do not like certain firmware updates
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 07:50 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
It could be a faulty/unreliable build of DD-WRT as well, have you tried to roll back to the last one you know worked before you had any of these issues. Sometimes certain revisions of hardware do not like certain firmware updates
I don't remember which revision worked well, but it was a fairly old revision where it was very buggy and stuff. SP1's not recommended by the developers and mods because it's very buggy. And I've been through the last couple of revisions.

@Chris. Yea, there's nothing new involving radio waves or anything like that, so it's either firmware or hardware related since the modem's fine. I don't mind giving the old Linksys firmware a try but they're just so bad. Plus I think there was a special way to revert back to Linksys firmware because to use DD-WRT, you have to kill the VXWorks firmware that Linksys uses.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 08:08 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

try installing a version of tomato ...search through the log and post back here or smth...
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 11:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mj,Sk
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

A few years back i was just about ready to pull my hair out with router problems, turns out it was from overheating, i swear it was the last thing that i thought of, has been as solid as a rock since i did my ghetto mod.


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 06:38 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

How'd you tell if it was overheating or not? That could be the culprit, but so far, it feels warm to the touch.

Oh, and nice mod =D
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 06:45 AM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
How'd you tell if it was overheating or not? That could be the culprit, but so far, it feels warm to the touch.

Oh, and nice mod =D
Pop the cover off and see how it works.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dying 790i... Nuggits Troubleshooting 4 August 19, 2009 12:20 AM
Try to recover info from an ext2 dying HDD Arinoth Storage 6 August 2, 2009 07:07 PM
Sounds like a dying mobo Arinoth Troubleshooting 3 July 20, 2009 05:54 PM
Dying Pentium III fan - what should I do ? foxman Air Cooling 26 May 20, 2009 02:13 PM
Diagnosing dying video card? RainMaker Troubleshooting 5 March 12, 2008 10:23 AM