Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 20, 2009, 02:49 AM
Top Prospect

Unhappy Need Help

Here's my dilemma... in the near future I will be doing a new gaming build and I am able to set it up in one of two rooms.(both of which have different needs for internet access)

Room #1: is directly above where my modem and wireless router are in my home so I would be able to run a 100 ft. network patch cable through the ceiling for direct internet access for only about 20 bucks

Room #2: is to far away from my modem and router to have a direct connection but is the preferable room to use for its location. I need ideas on ways to get a good wireless connection in this room for no more than roughly $60 (I have no idea of what would be a good setup for this connection....im a newbie:help:)

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks
Old August 20, 2009, 07:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

A wireless bridge. You can actually get a Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Router right now, that can double as a Wireless bridge, from NCIX right now for $50 + tax/shipping. I'm not sure if the stock firmware has the option for using it as a bridge or not but I'm using the Tomato firmware. If I were you, I'd buy 2 of those routers and install Tomato and both, set one up as a bridge and you will have a rock solid connection.
Old August 20, 2009, 10:21 PM
Top Prospect

If I purchase one of the router u suggested instead of two would I be able to do the bridge between that and the current router my parents have?
Old August 21, 2009, 06:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Yes I beleive you could, just set thet linksys to bridge mode and it should receive the signal and transmit it as well. Not sure how reliable your current router is though.
Old August 21, 2009, 08:48 PM
F@H

My System Specs

$60 to setup a solid wireless connection isn't feasible IMO, unless you have direct line of sight without obstructions.