Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 07:16 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,580

My System Specs

Default

You know teksavvy is one of the companies whose in the fun boat of Bell's potentially UBB that would force bell's limitations (bandwidth and packet shaping) onto its redistributers however the verdict is currently not in for it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 07:42 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

@ empty quarter but only if you signed up after a certain date my plan is the same unlimited with the max of 25$
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 08:03 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

I looked further into this matter and it turns out that the $25 max limit still applies.

I might have misunderstood what the lady was talking about, but im going to keep it low until I get this matter clarified.

Edit: I did sign up for my current package after the date where the $25 limit applies, I have been paying a max of $25 for many months now.
__________________
Daily // 2.4GHz Mac Mini ::4GB :: 320GB HDD :: Apple Wireless Keyboard :: G5v2

Rig // PC-A7010 :: 1050W :: Rampage :: Q6600 :: 8GB :: GTX 260
X25-V :: 4x 1TB RAID-5 :: 2x 1TB RAID-1 :: 4x 1.5TB :: 1x 2TB
G15v2 :: MX-518 :: Xonar DX :: 7 Pro x64

2408WFP :: DT770/80 :: Onkyo TX-SR605 :: Klipsch RB-61 :: SVS PB10-NSD
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 05:37 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Anyone else using Lite?
25GB limit sucks!
I can fold... download a movie or two... upload my work... and that's it.
I'm thinking of dropping rogers soon if I can find a better deal.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2009, 07:15 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Default

I can confirm that the maximum overcharge is only $25. I spoke to a Rogers employee on the phone the other day when switching ISP and he said you can have unlimited for $25 extra on the 10Mb connection.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2009, 08:35 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

I can confirm this too..
check your bill it will look something like this:
Overage Charge X
Overage Credit (Y=X-25)
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2009, 09:40 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

ahhh im glad i left Rogers a very happy customer of Teksavvy for almost a year now.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 06:06 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Default

So far I'm pretty happy with Rogers. With 4 people always using the connection download speeds from a fast website are all over 1Mb/sec while torrents hold up at 500kb/sec and higher. After one week we have already used up our monthly bandwidth. As of Friday we had hit 75% of 95GB, in 4 days.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Push a Modu82+ to its limit? CMetaphor Power Supplies 6 August 9, 2009 10:30 PM
How can I limit Bitlord...? Lamb Networking 21 April 24, 2009 06:59 PM
e6600 Over clocking limit? mattydies Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 December 21, 2007 12:03 PM
AtiFlash new version 3.35 download Babrbarossa Video Cards 0 April 10, 2007 08:09 AM