Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 08:08 AM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Uhm... I'm NEVER posting a speedtest here... You'll all make me cry. *sadface*
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 08:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Videotron 30/50 is a gimmick - the caps are ridiculously low as it is - ISPs have their heads in their arses because you can easily exceed the CAP without ONE illegal download - what's the use of 3x to 5x speed if you are capped like this - downloading a couple of games purchased online, subscription to online video rentals and streaming, etc, etc, etc and you exceed your cap.

Things to take into consideration too - depending on the website and server and how they balance things, you might not even get close to that speed - For web surfing it is USELESS, for file downloading, it is unrealistic to think you will be downloading at 30mbps or even close - and the upload speed is a ridiculous ******* joke in proportion to the down speed.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 08:25 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

What DarKStar said...I have a 500kB/s down connection and 80kB/s up..and I did 280GB this month (without even trying to do some hard damage lol) ...so that speed + 70 GB cap per month is suicide..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 08:28 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

#1 - I don't download that much, rarely over 50Gb in a month, so I don't give a crap about the cap.

#2 - The whole purpose of me starting this thread is because Ultimate 30 and Extreme high speed cost the same per month and has the potential to be up to 3x faster.

Why complain so much? Did your bandwidth get beaten up by the schoolyard bully when you were a kid?

For the same price as I'm currently paying, I don't see a downside to trying it out and posting the results here. Do you?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 02:23 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

Why would you want to get a 3x faster connection if you don't download that much?...and second you'll get past 70 in no time with those speeds (3.8MB/s max)...
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 04:16 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
Why would you want to get a 3x faster connection if you don't download that much?...and second you'll get past 70 in no time with those speeds (3.8MB/s max)...

Again... I dont care about download caps and its the same price. Whats so hard to understand? A free upgrade to 3x speed, who Wouldnt try it?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 07:00 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default Results!



SP3:



Be the judge for yourself Im quite happy with the results so far!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 10:06 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

The microsoft download is something I would see on Shaw's 15mbit service....


.... and





That's while currently torrenting....
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 10:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,773

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
The microsoft download is something I would see on Shaw's 15mbit service....


.... and





That's while currently torrenting....
Unfortunaly, Shaw is not in QC, so we have to keep giving our money to Videotron for that type of connection. I would like to get what you pay for with Shaw... their prices and packages are nice!
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THe Ultimate steal pRefy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 24, 2009 03:47 PM
64 Bit Vista Ultimate and Office Ultimate 32 Bit tyreman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 22, 2009 04:54 AM
Videotron is terrible! Mike_E Off Topic 23 December 28, 2008 10:10 PM
The Ultimate Gaming Rig renoracer New Builds 38 September 23, 2008 04:25 PM
High Speed Internet from Videotron zer0.cool Off Topic 11 August 1, 2008 05:44 PM