Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 05:47 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingnubian View Post
Higher speed with a reduced cap has always seemed like a contradiction to me.
It is a contradiction. It makes no sense why they do it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 06:14 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleF View Post
It is a contradiction. It makes no sense why they do it.
Cogeco doesn't
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 06:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,791

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
Once I can afford it I want to transition to Cogeco's "High Speed Internet Ultimate" which is 50Mbps down, 1.5Mbps up, and unlike Videotron and the like, my bandwidth cap would go up from my current of 125GB to 160GB!

Explore - High Speed Internet | Cogeco - Ontario

Though I'm also thinking about just getting two "High Speed Internet Pro" and load balancing them for an end result of 32Mbps down, 2Mbps up, for the larger resulting cap of 250GB at the same price.

Best thing about Cogeco? No throttling on the downstream(they do throttle upstream but oh well, decent trade off)!
You would really pay 150$ ?
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 06:32 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inik View Post
You would really pay 150$ ?
I can't afford it right now(obiously) but when I find work, hell yea, I don't watch TV do I don't have a cable subscription/cable box to pay for, no landline, only my cell, so I save there, no car, I use public transit, or bike, so hell yes, I'm willing to pay extra for fast Internet and lots of bandwidth.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 06:42 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
I can't afford it right now(obiously) but when I find work, hell yea, I don't watch TV do I don't have a cable subscription/cable box to pay for, no landline, only my cell, so I save there, no car, I use public transit, or bike, so hell yes, I'm willing to pay extra for fast Internet and lots of bandwidth.
The Videotron ultimate 30 is only $65/month with a 1-year contract....
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 07:40 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
The Videotron ultimate 30 is only $65/month with a 1-year contract....
But only 70GB of data and possible throttling, not sure I could live with that little, so good luck with that
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 07:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,791

My System Specs

Default

You could buy some GB if they offer it with this package. CMetaphor could confirm :P
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 08:05 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inik View Post
You could buy some GB if they offer it with this package. CMetaphor could confirm :P
Yes they did mention something about adding and extra 30gb of 50gb of downloads a month for like $12. So $75-76 for 30/1 with 100Gb down. Not too bad. The throttling has yet to be seen.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 06:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,791

My System Specs

Default

me want some speedtests
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 08:59 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Okay fine... but its not from Videotron's Ultimate 30. Thats getting installed on Saturday.

In the meantime, how about some Real speed?


Ahhh... If only i could get that at home...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THe Ultimate steal pRefy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 24, 2009 04:47 PM
64 Bit Vista Ultimate and Office Ultimate 32 Bit tyreman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 22, 2009 05:54 AM
Videotron is terrible! Mike_E Off Topic 23 December 28, 2008 11:10 PM
The Ultimate Gaming Rig renoracer New Builds 38 September 23, 2008 05:25 PM
High Speed Internet from Videotron zer0.cool Off Topic 11 August 1, 2008 06:44 PM