Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 07:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I've actually had numerous problems with Telus.. I transferred my account to their business side, when my parents opened a business, actually to speak, I wasted hours trying to troubleshoot, and then calling their tech support to troubleshoot with them, so they schedule a tech for me, guess what.. first of all it was going to cost me, and second of all I had to wait a month to get a time for the tech.. I had a tech come check out the business before, and apparently his equipment tested that it would work, unfortunately (my mistake) I had no PCs their at that time, no laptop, neither did the tech come with one..

So I got pissed, and called Shaw, we scheduled, he was on time.. I got an installation done within a day, and I had no hickups in 3 years of service.. and since I was an existing customer, and the business was sort of small business, I had a residential internet access...

Paul really, call Shaw back.. Sign as a new customer (new phone number) and usually get some kind of 3 months deal..

Oh and FixT, I didn't know they had student pricing, I'm doing a part time certificate, and finished one course, going for the next one next month.. I don't have a student-id, but enough amount of proof to show i'm a student, ima call them really..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 07:10 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I wanted to compare shaw and telus ( I already had shaw) so I gave telus a call and they sent out a dsl modem and I hooked it up and spent close to 2 hours trying to get an ip... I called their customer service and they assured me the new account was active. So I re-wire my phone line to my office and disconnect all the others from the telus box, still no go.
I called customer service again and finally got someone who had half a brain ( after 1/2 an hour of punching keys) who laughed and told me they don't have Telus high speed in my neighbourhood....
What a joke.
I just cancelled my telus phone a couple of days ago as well.
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 07:15 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Sorry to hear about your troubles. My experience with Shaw has always been pretty good. I even had a guy out to my place at 9pm when I moved in to set up my cable and internet. And their 24/7 support has never really failed me either. And when my family or friends have cable or net problems that I can't help with, I tell them to call Shaw because that's what they are there for. And sure enough their issues get dealt with.

If it makes you feel better, you may be able to take advantage of some kind of "new customer" discount/deal with Shaw when you go back. :)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 07:17 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

I don't understand why they would need to send anyone to you. Its DSL, typically all you need is the modem and for them to turn you on either at their main switch station or at the DSLAM and that's it. At least that's how it has always been with me and bell. I've lived in 3 different places with bell, all i had to do was get the modem from them, plug it in on the date they said it was active and that was it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 07:40 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Having seen some of Telus' internal working, they do tend to treat customers with contempt for some reason.
Also, on a related note, I worked for a Rogers dealer last summer, and we were selling home phone. As Telus owns all the lines here, they have to do the install and then you get onto Rogers fiber network for routing calls around Canada. Anyways, one of our customers patiently waited while Telus botched 11 (yes, eleven!) separate installs over two months. I think we told them to give Shaw a call instead and get Shaw to do phone. ):
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 11:15 PM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I've had 0 issues with throttling either using torrents OR normal downloads.
+1 for Shaw's throttleless service.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2009, 12:46 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

Vortex! Dude!

shoulda asked here first man . If telus high speed cost HALF of what shaw charges it STILL isnt worth it. Telus' business support is no better. The only account that telus actually gives a damn about is the Managed Business Internet service. 99.9% proven uptime with service that is spot on...
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2009, 07:02 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

Give Teksavvy a call.

Sure, you're stuck with Telus to get the initial setup done, but you get the TS tech support people who actually know what they're talking about rather than reading from a script.

I've been with them a couple of years now, after getting frustrated with Telus and then Shaw and they've been excellent.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2009, 08:18 AM
probationer's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 123
Default

Spoke to an internet-less Paul last night, he's pulled the plug on Telus and has called Shaw, after being told the next install date wouldn't be for another MONTH!....after reading this thread I might just jump across from Telus since Shaw is already in the house anyway.

My telus is stuck on 300/50 (KB/s) max after coming from Australia I expected better (had minimum of 20/10Mbps there) hopefully Shaw will get higher speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2009, 08:43 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Yup, finally got things sorted, and they called to let me know their soonest install date for evening service would be Sept 4th, yup. I told them to Frak off and cancel me immediately. What a joke! Back to shaw I go. Just gotta get a phone # they dont already have on file...
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
fail , internet , isp , service , telus

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windwithme’s Core i7 review Part 11-MSI X58M Micro-ATX OC Review windwithme Member Reviews 8 August 5, 2009 03:53 PM
windwithme’s Core i7 review Part 10 - Foxconn Flaming Blade GTI Indepth review windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 27, 2009 10:20 AM
MSI p35 bearlake Mobos review but it-review Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 May 16, 2007 01:16 PM