Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 12:07 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Security Certificate Error... rogers.yahoo.com?

I got this error last night when opening my default page (rogers.yahoo.com) in IE8...
Still getting it today.



Any ideas why? or what I should do?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 04:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Do you have any details on what the error actually is?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 05:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

This error is a security error designed to protect you against fraudulent websites/warn you against fake security certificates.

Just in case you're not aware, when you connect to a website through SSL (HTTPS://), it requires a certificate. There are two options, the site can purchase a certificate from a legitimate, trusted certificate provider, which will prevent this kind of error from happening. Or, they can generate they're own, self-signed certificate, which will generate an error. In addition to that, some people don't understand certificates and add wrong ones to the wrong sites, which will also generate the above error.

So what this is telling is the Yahoo certificate used for rogers.yahoo.com is expired and they need to renew it with a Trusted Provider or assign the proper certificate to the listed subdomain.

As long as the url isn't being hijacked and you're not being redirected somewhere else, then most likely they just forgot to update their certs. If you're not doing any financial transactions or have any secure information that you use on that site, then you can, if you want, go ahead and just accept the broken certificate and continue viewing the site.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 12:23 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I've been having the same problem on my gf pc. mine is fine but hers is having this problem.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 12:30 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Fiorteew challle shill ckill it wirth fiure asd fireeeee fkills all lfune
!!!!!! all fun kikllls filereeee !!! fire killd s FUN
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 03:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
I got this error last night when opening my default page (rogers.yahoo.com) in IE8...
Still getting it today.



Any ideas why? or what I should do?
I tried going back to IE7 and still no go. It's messing up her msn as well. I've tried googling it to no avail. I even did an os reinstall for the hell of it and still no go. I'm totally stumped on this one. It was working fine one day and the next day pffffttttt! It happened 4-5 days ago.

I should also mention it does this with firefox as well. Anyone else using rogers having this problem?
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 03:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Yahoo is aware of the issue and is working on getting it resolved.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 03:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

LOL - I know this may sound stupid but is your clock/calendar set correctly ? :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 03:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Thanks sswilson! You always seem to be here to comfort us in our time of need. So I'm assuming it's a yahoo issue and not a rogers issue? Do you have any idea what could be causing this? I looked at the security certificate and everything looked ok.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 03:20 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

It's a server side Yahoo issue. (Trust me.... ;) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yahoo's not safe... omgwtf Off Topic 14 July 3, 2008 02:14 AM
Yahoo Sued For Copyright Infringement Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 2, 2008 06:17 PM
Yahoo weighs in on Chinese free speech (sort of) Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 12, 2007 08:27 AM
Home Security Shadowed Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 23, 2007 02:05 PM
Yahoo now offers unlimted email storage Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 March 28, 2007 11:59 AM