Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 06:32 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default LAN gaming on a VPN?

Is this possible? We've got some old games that aren't supported online anymore (even C&C3 won't work anymore for some reason) that we'd like to play again. Hamachi's free service always goes to the ultra crappy 8kbps relayed connection now which obviously makes games unplayable. So rather than fork out monthly subscription fees we're looking at getting new routers with VPN tunneling capabilities. Will this work for LAN gaming?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 07:00 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Strategy games will work probably, but tunneling through a vpn adds a bit of lag. Why do you need a vpn? Can't you just set up a game server?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 07:17 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Strategy games will work probably, but tunneling through a vpn adds a bit of lag. Why do you need a vpn? Can't you just set up a game server?
We can't even sign in to the online service for C&C3 TW or KW so it's kind of hard to setup a server. (and yes we do have legit registered versions on the games)
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 08:21 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

If you all legally own the games, you should be able to run a dedicated server for whatever game, then give your external IP to your friends. They should be able to connect directly with the IP, bypassing the server browser or whatever. Might need to do it via the console though.

There's Comodo EasyVPN too, though I'm not sure if they cap as well or not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 05:46 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

OMFG, after 2 hours of screwing around trying to get C&C3 TW to login to online, it finally does (gee, why did we ever use Hamachi to play this...)

Can someone answer my question, obviously we'd like to avoid these blood sucking software leeches who change user agreements as often as they change their socks. Hardware under our control seems like a better option, if it works.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 06:10 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

I have never had issues with Hamachi using low speed relays instead of the regular ones when playing GRAW1&2 online with my fellow clanmates.
I wonder what is going on there for you?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 08:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

I've used hardware routers with built in VPN tunneling ability, and then set them to connect to each other.
At least once, just used an old-fashioned SSH tunnel.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 12:25 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Hamachi just stopped working one night after we had to agree to a 'new' user agreement. We did a trial of the full paid version which worked fine, that expired and it was back to the 'you'll rarely ever have to use this speed' setting 100% of the time. Greed kills another good program, kinda like winzip, we bought like 100+ lifetime licenses at work, that lasted all of one update.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 07:38 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Still haven't used EasyVPN?

At least Comodo sticks to keeping things free.

Comodo Easy VPN for Strong Encryption Software Security

They even promote it too:
Quote:
...even setup a multi-player gaming session
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding Through A VPN?? Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 December 23, 2008 12:07 PM
Question about VPN mklym Networking 0 December 5, 2008 07:20 AM
Voice server for LAN gaming? DK2 Gaming 13 October 15, 2008 12:35 PM
Lan Report: C-Toan Lan, Jun. 20/21, Maple Ridge, BC DaleF Canadian LAN Parties & Events 6 July 4, 2008 09:57 PM
Lan Report: C-Toan Lan, Jan. 25/26, Maple Ridge, BC DaleF Canadian LAN Parties & Events 5 February 2, 2008 07:35 PM