Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 02:06 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default Throttling issue ROUND 2 - When Small companies fight back!

Small ISPs fight ruling that let Bell throttle internet speeds

Enjoy the article. So proud of being a Teksavvy customer, keep up the good work guys.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 04:28 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

correct me if i am wrong but does tek not but the lines and time from bell or rogers so are you not throttled. ( got it now thank jumped the gun sorry )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 05:28 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

but...but??
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 05:41 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

I'm not entirely convinced that its just peer to peer file sharing that gets throttled.
When I was with Bell, prime evening hours were crushed half the time and simple browsing almost useless.
Also gaming is usually peer to peer too, do they throttle that too, or is that filtered?

I could handle a bit of throttling, but not when it reduces you to 1K/sec or kills you completely.
I don't torrent anyways, so could care less about that, pretty much theft most of the time as far as I can see.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 06:48 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,786

My System Specs

Default

"At the end of the day, it's about investment in infrastructure."

I'm curious about something. How many GB would you use by streaming standard TV? ...They don't charge you by how much you use your TV..
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 07:43 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inik View Post
"At the end of the day, it's about investment in infrastructure."

I'm curious about something. How many GB would you use by streaming standard TV? ...They don't charge you by how much you use your TV..
Standard TV needs about 3 megabits per second on average, depending on who you talk to. The reason they don't charge you by how much you use your TV because it doesn't cost rogers anything.

What rogers did is, without any public funds, agressively built a network of their own. It costs them nothing but maintenance costs, so they can send as much data as they wan't and it doesn't matter.

The reason people charge by the gb is because they must buy from providers, Bell is no different. Their OC192 backbones are from large provider level carriers. Bell is turning around and doing the same thing to the people who use their network.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 07:44 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK2 View Post
I'm not entirely convinced that its just peer to peer file sharing that gets throttled.
When I was with Bell, prime evening hours were crushed half the time and simple browsing almost useless.
Also gaming is usually peer to peer too, do they throttle that too, or is that filtered?

I could handle a bit of throttling, but not when it reduces you to 1K/sec or kills you completely.
I don't torrent anyways, so could care less about that, pretty much theft most of the time as far as I can see.
It isn't just torrents. In many places they have oversold their links, so that during prime time its slow as hell. you have about half as much bandwidth as is required, so people get policed and throttled.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 08:06 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,641

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure I accept their reasoning of "wanting to be able to distinguish themselves from Bell" as a valid point to prevent Bell from using the same kind of fee structure to the smaller providers as Bell is using for their own customers.

The whole point here is that Bell was forced by the CRTC to allow the smaller providers to access their infrastructure at a price point which would allow them to be competitive with bell's service.

If the smaller ISPs want to be able to provide service which is beyond what bell itself offers, then they should have to put their own infrastructure in place.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 08:11 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

That’s what confuses me Cheator, they say they just throttle file sharing which
tells me its just peer to peer on certain ports.
From what you say, its seems like we’re being lied to.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 08:20 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK2 View Post
That’s what confuses me Cheator, they say they just throttle file sharing which
tells me its just peer to peer on certain ports.
From what you say, its seems like we’re being lied to.
Kinda. They don't oversubscriber everywhere, just in certain places. At my old place it was fantastic, a beautiful 6 meg connection. My friend in Orleans, however, is on an oversubscribed link. This is common in the provider world, its how you save money. Its not legally a lie though, since they tell you "up to" 6 megs.

Keep in mind this is different from throttling, its just a money saving tactic. Their throttling boxes throttle things that include peer to peer traffic and even unidentified traffic if you're flagged as a downloader.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got into a fight with my wife Mark Off Topic 7 May 7, 2009 03:57 PM
Cound't fight any longer, needed water! 3.0charlie Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 59 January 23, 2009 09:59 AM
A Not So Small Issue With GPU2 Client SKYMTL HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 September 7, 2008 09:32 AM
Custom Laptop Companies? bojangles Mobile Computing 8 August 25, 2008 01:40 PM
Are all of these companies the same? qwerty Off Topic 15 December 2, 2007 02:51 PM