Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 06:16 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,903
Default Speedtouch 516 + Linksys WRT54GL help ?!

Speedtouch 516 software release: 6.2.29.2
Linksys WRT54GL running Tomato/MLPPP 1.19

I've got the Ethernet cable from the modem into the Internet port of the router, and from the pc to the port1 (router)..

The problem is that I can't get to access the modem's webpage while I'm running it in bridge mode and having the router doing the PPPoe. I've been googling and trying stuff from dslreports and other forums for over 1 day and its killing me..Now I know there is somebody around here that can help me ..

I've attached some pics, I'll post my router stats too if needed..
Attached Images
         
__________________
Memento mori

Last edited by omgwtf; April 30, 2009 at 06:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2009, 09:40 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,903
Default

I've did it.. I'm posting the solution if there are others with my dilemma..

1) Modem should be at 192.168.1.254
2) Router should be 192.168.2.1
3) Computers should be 192.168.2.x
At this stage you should have internet access and be able to access the router at 192.168.2.1, but not the modem.
4) Add script to Wan Up:
ip addr add 192.168.1.10/24 dev br1 brd +
/usr/sbin/iptables -I POSTROUTING -t nat -o br1 -d 192.168.1.0/24 -j MASQUERADE
5) Reboot router and wait a few minutes
6) If successful, you can access the router at 192.168.2.1 or 192.168.1.10 and access the modem from 192.168.1.254.
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2009, 11:48 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Man im sooo gonna try this i havent updated to the tomato firmware yet. My nats closed on my xbox 360 and i cannot figure out why. How easy was it to flash to tomota and which version did you use?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2009, 02:37 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,903
Default

I'm using Stable build (v2): Tomato/MLPPP 1.19-mp2 (2.7 MiB). You can find out more useful things on: Tomato/MLPPP . In my case it was really easy to switch to Tomato..depends on what router are you using. I can post screenshots if you want or pm you some guides but its farely easy. Right now I'm trying to change my modem's firmware to access the DMT tool to see my line stats..

LE: I've managed to run DMT and it seems I didn't had to change my modems firmware..this is a very nice tool. GL
__________________
Memento mori

Last edited by omgwtf; May 3, 2009 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2009, 12:56 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hi omgwtf, I have the same issue. I have setup speedtouch to bridge mode, DLink 655 router to PPPoE, and for my LAN. It;s working fine. Now I want to access the speedtouch from my PC behide the Dlink router.

Quote:
4) Add script to Wan Up:
ip addr add 192.168.1.10/24 dev br1 brd +
/usr/sbin/iptables -I POSTROUTING -t nat -o br1 -d 192.168.1.0/24 -j MASQUERADE
I didn't get it. Where to add the script? Can you explain it please?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2009, 03:33 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,903
Default

Here's a screenshot that I took..As I said I'm running tomato 1.19..depends on what version of firmware are you running.
REMEMBER: For this commands to work, you gotta have the routers ip set to 192.168.2.1 .
Attached Images
 
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 12:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,773

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't work for me :(

I want to know my line stats without having to disconnect everything!
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 12:40 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

actually, i am using the fork of tomato with mlppp. (not sure on the version) but they have added an field to type in the modem ip. It works fine. I can find out the version i am running later tonight.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 05:46 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,903
Default

Inik check pm...but you know that not every firmware for speedtouch supports that program to check your line status right?
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 06:10 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ok here it is.

I am using the following version of tomato

Version 1.22-mp3alpha5er1

under basic -> network

there is a field for your modem IP. just drop it in there.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Linksys WRT54GL Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 5 April 23, 2009 10:32 AM
[FS] Linksys WRT54G Mike_E Buy/Sell & Trade 5 March 3, 2009 02:06 PM
Can only connect to Linksys Wireless Myiagros Troubleshooting 4 March 3, 2009 09:53 AM
Setting up Linksys WRT54GL Dashock Networking 9 January 21, 2009 02:47 PM
LF modem Thompson 516 or equivalent yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 3, 2008 05:17 AM